Barry Arundell and Southsea Motor Club win prestigious MSA awards


Barry Arundell and Southsea Motor Club have been named the JLT MSA Volunteer and Club of the Year respectively, following an outstanding array of entries showcasing the best of UK motor sport.

Barry was nominated by the Motorsport Marshalling Partnership (MMP) in recognition of his efforts over many years in Northern Ireland as well as the Republic of Ireland. Barry is a chief marshal with his local motor club and also acts as a deputy stage commander on various events, from club to international level. He was praised for his enthusiastic approach to marshalling and for taking every available opportunity to enhance his knowledge and skills.

Barry said: “I am very humbled and privileged to receive the JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year 2017 award. I would like to thank the clubs that have nominated me and especially my own club, Omagh Motor Club, which has just celebrated its 75th anniversary. It is not only me – there’s a great bunch of people who are the backbone of the club and this is for them as well as me.”

Southsea Motor Club’s nomination was endorsed by the Association of Central Southern Motor Clubs (ACSMC). The club has increased its membership by 54 per cent in the last five years following various initiatives to introduce motor sport to new people. These include working with East Hampshire District Council – with Go Motorsport support – to run a Production Car Autotest for juniors. The club also sponsored the Auto Student of the Year prize at South Downs College in the Vehicle Repair Diploma Course and currently supports the Andover College Motorsport Course.

The club currently runs events ranging from 12 Cars and autotests to stage rallies, and in 2017 it co-promoted a new autocross event on the Isle of Wight. It also runs social events for members alongside its motor sport activities. During the last three years, the club has donated over £2500 to five local charities.

Shane Dennis, secretary of Southsea Motor Club, said: “We are surprised and delighted to learn of our success. This is without doubt the most prestigious award we have won in the 86-year history of Southsea Motor Club. It will raise our profile locally and help us to increase our membership and the number and type of events we organise.”

Barry and representatives of Southsea Motor Club will receive trophies and prize cheques at the MSA Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club in London on 27 January.

Overall 56 volunteers and 20 clubs were nominated. The volunteer category winners were:

  • Steward/Clerk: Jonathan Millar (Larne Motor Club)
  • Marshal: Brian Wilson (Omagh Motor Club)
  • Medical/Rescue/Recovery/Safety: Colin Whitter (British Automobile Racing Club)
  • Technical Official: Sue Bateman (Superkarting-UK)
  • Other: Howard Joynt (Sporting Car Club of Norfolk)

Second place in the club awards went to Ballynahinch & District Motor Club, with East Ayrshire Car Club coming third. Vintage Sports Car Club was designated as Highly Commended.

For further details of all award winners, please click here.

Images: A Southsea Motor Club autotest (top) and Barry Arundell (bottom).

A view from the outside in, looking at Motorsport UK's various roles as a governing body. Motorsport UK has worked in the background as a governing body for over 100 years, but is undergoing a change of culture and mission. Since the arrival of Chai... Read more

We are aware that a number of our licence holders will be attending events which take place over the weekend following the Brexit deadline and that whilst you may be able to exit the UK without issue, it is possible that if a deal with the EU is not ... Read more

As Ott Tanak and Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC celebrate their first British win, one of my main reflections is how the 2000 marshals, motor clubs and volunteers have once again helped deliver an amazing Wales Rally GB 2019. You make such an extraordinary ... Read more

Motorsport UK is pleased to offer members an exclusive discount on tickets to this year’s Lancaster Insurance Classic Motor Show, with Discovery. Read more

The MSA will make significant changes to its governance structures and processes from 2018 following detailed analysis of the recommendations of a major strategic review. Read more

Stephen Lickorish and Matt Sayle have been named the MSA Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year respectively and will each receive a trophy and £1000 at the MSA Night of Champions on 27 January. Read more

British GT4 Champion Will Tregurtha was named the iZone MSA Young Driver of the Year 2017 after a four-way shootout at Silverstone and will receive his trophy at the MSA Night of Champions in January. Read more

The MSA is seeking a pair of new Go Motorsport Regional Development Officers (RDOs) to cover the North and the East Midlands. Read more