Benyon and Bathie win Renault MSA media awards


Motorsport reporter Jack Benyon and photographer Dan Bathie have been named the Renault MSA Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year 2016 respectively.

Established in 2002, the awards are designed to recognise the most promising journalists and photographers aged 30 or under working within British motorsport.

Benyon, aged 24 from Chester, impressed the judges with a high quality selection of original news and features. The panel also noted his rapid career progression, which has seen him become Group National Editor of both Motorsport News and Autosport.

Benyon said: “I’m honoured to have won this prestigious award supported by Renault UK and the MSA. I’ve worked hard to improve over the past two years of my employment at Motorsport News and Autosport. I’m lucky to count many of the previous winners among my colleagues and I thank them for their help in my development. A huge thanks must go to Deputy Editor Matt Beer and his creation of the Autosport Talent Development Programme of which I’m a graduate. I look forward to stepping up a gear and working even harder to produce great content in 2017.”

Bathie, aged 25 from Derbyshire, was Highly Commended by the judges last year and goes a step further in 2016. His outstanding photographic entry combined technical excellence with artistry and showcased a variety of motorsport disciplines at both national and international levels.

Bathie said: “I feel so honoured to have won this prestigious award. This has long been an ambition of mine ever since I started photography so I’m delighted to have been awarded this. When I found out I was a bit speechless! It’s an amazing end to the year, and I’m already excited to start next year and see what it brings. I’d like to thank everyone who supported me and allowed me to achieve this goal of mine.”

Benyon and Bathie will each receive a trophy and a £1000 cheque at the MSA Night of Champions ceremony, which takes place at the Royal Automobile Club in London on 28 January. They will also receive a year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW), the world’s largest association of automotive editorial professionals.

Five other outstanding submissions were designated ‘Highly Commended’ – the following young journalists and photographers will also receive a year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers:

James Newbold, Freelance (journalist)
Jack Phillips, Motor Sport (journalist)
Sam Sheehan, Autocar (journalist)
Jayson Fong, Freelance (photographer)
Matthew Sayle, Freelance (photographer).

Motorsport UK Academy Team UK member Jamie Chadwick has been shortlisted in the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards 2019. Read more

After receiving questions from clubs on the new permit structures for 2020, there have been a number of questions arising on the implementation of these changes, including around the new RS Clubman licence. Read more

The 2019 Motorsport UK Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards are open to entries from promising young members of the motorsport media aged 30 and under. Read more

It’s been a weekend of highs and lows for Team UK in the inaugural FIA Motorsport Games based at Italy’s Vallelunga Circuit (31 October – 3 November). Read more

Anglesey Circuit has won the 2016 MSA Environmental Award, designed to recognise outstanding achievement or contribution towards environmental responsibility and the active promotion of sustainability within motorsport. Read more

James McKeefry and Farnborough District Motor Club have been named the MSA JLT Volunteer and Club of the Year respectively, following a record number of entries and a highly competitive field showcasing the best of UK motorsport. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) welcomes today’s announcement by the Crown Office of a joint Fatal Accident Inquiry into the tragic events of the Snowman Rally 2013 and Jim Clark Rally 2014. Read more

The MSA and BTRDA have agreed to rest the MSA Asphalt Rally Championship in 2017 following the retirement of long-time championship coordinator Andrew Haill. Read more