Best of British crowned at Night of Champions


FIA President Jean Todt and Deputy President (Sport) Graham Stoker crowned the 2018 British Champions during Motorsport UK’s prestigious Night of Champions ceremony in London on Saturday (26 January).

David Richards CBE, Chairman of Motorsport UK, hosted the winners of British motorsport’s most prestigious titles for the annual awards evening at the Royal Automobile Club. They were joined by a series of special award winners, each recognised for outstanding achievement in their areas of contribution to the sport. Steve Rider and Hannah White, the broadcaster and adventurer, co-presented the evening.

David Richards said: “Our British Champions have excelled in their chosen disciplines to claim the ultimate accolades in UK motorsport. What makes their achievements all the more remarkable is the strength of the sport in this country today, with its 30,000 competition licence holders and thousands of events nationwide.

“We also took opportunity to recognise outstanding achievement right across the motorsport landscape with a series of special awards, covering motorsport volunteers, clubs, media professionals and more. Everyone engaged in motorsport in this country is part of our Motorsport UK family and it is only right that we also recognise those who make such an exceptional contribution to our sport.”

The Champions honoured on the night were:

British Cadet Kart Championship: Arvid Lindblad
British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Paul Platt
British Car Trial Championship: Mark Hoppe
British Sporting Trials Championship: Ian Wright
British Autotest Championship: Malcolm Livingston
British Sprint Championship: Heather Calder
British Drag Racing Championship: Andy Robinson
British Hill Climb Championship: Trevor Willis
British Rallycross Championship: Mark Higgins
British Historic Rally Championship: Paul Barrett and Brian Hodgson
British Junior Rally Championship: Steve Rokland and Tom Woodburn
British Manufacturers Rally Championship: Ford
British Rally Championship: Matt Edwards and Darren Garrod
British GT Championship: Flick Haigh and Jonny Adam
F4 British Championship – Certified by FIA, powered by EcoBoost: Kiern Jewiss
BRDC British F3 Championship: Linus Lundqvist
British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: BMW
British Touring Car Championship: Colin Turkington

The special award winners were:

JLT Motorsport UK Club of the Year: Enniskillen Motor Club
JLT Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Clerks & Stewards: Paddy Haveron
JLT Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Marshals: Denis Arundell
JLT Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Other: Lucinda McKee
JLT Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year – Overall: John Comiskey
FIA Best Marshal of the Season: Barry Arundell
Motorsport UK Environmental Award: Rally4Wales
Motorsport UK Young Journalist of the Year: James Newbold
Motorsport UK Young Photographer of the Year: Michael Holden
iZone MSA Young Driver of the Year: Joe Turney
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Jamie Chadwick

For details of all the award winners, please click here.

Motorsport UK is seeking teams and drivers to represent the UK at the forthcoming FIA Motorsport Games, to be held at Italy’s ACI Vallelunga Circuit 31 October - 03 November. Read more

Whether it is ‘Flying Finns’, ‘Super Swedes’ or charismatic Norwegians like Petter Solberg, the rallying history books are littered with the heroic exploits of Nordic drivers. Over the ages, Markku Alén, Björn Waldegård, Ari Vatanen, Hannu Mikkola, S... Read more

Motorsport UK are delighted to offer members the chance to attend an evening to celebrate 'The Most Significant Ferrari in The World' at the Royal Automobile Club Woodcote Park. Read more

Motorsport UK has partnered with IAM Roadsmart, UK’s largest independent road safety charity. Read more

Do you want to help deliver a bold new vision for UK motorsport? Exciting opportunities have arisen for a Commercial Manager, Graphic Designer and an Events Marketing Executive. Read more

In a positive development for motorsport, the European Parliament’s Internal Market Committee (IMCO) has approved a report concerning the review of the Motor Insurance Directive (MID), recommending that motorsport should not be impacted by Vnuk, an i... Read more

Motorsport UK is seeking applications from the best young karting talent wishing to represent the UK in the 2019 CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy, an international championship for 11- to 14-year-olds. Read more

Motorsport UK continues to urge the motorsport community to respond to a Transport Scotland consultation on closed-road motorsport before it closes at midnight on 28 January. Read more