Lewis Hamilton receives Hawthorn Memorial Trophy


Mercedes AMG Petronas Formula One Team driver Lewis Hamilton was delighted to receive the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy from Nick Bunting, Chief Executive of the Motor Sports Association (MSA), at Silverstone today (Saturday 29 June) after taking pole position for tomorrow’s Santander British Grand Prix.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the previous year’s FIA Formula One World Drivers’ Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain's first F1 champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

Hamilton finished fourth in the 2012 F1 championship following race victories in Canada, Hungary, Italy and the United States, plus a season’s best seven pole positions. He has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy twice previously for his rookie 2007 season and his title-winning 2008 campaign.

Nick Bunting said: “Lewis’s 2012 season underlined his stunning speed and race craft, with more poles than any other driver and four fantastic grand prix victories. It was a pleasure to present him with the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy, particularly at Silverstone just hours after he took pole position for his home grand prix.”

Motorsport UK has launched a nationwide competition, offering kart licence holders a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to join their Formula 1® heroes on the start grid at this year’s Formula 1® 2019 Rolex British Grand Prix. Read more

The Education and Training Team are pleased to announce training dates for Stage Commander (New and Refresher), Event/Spectator Safety Officer and Safety Car courses in 2019. Read more

Motorsport UK has partnered with British watch brand, Omologato, a brand that actively promotes and invests in British and overseas motorsport. Read more

In a landmark development for motorsport in Scotland, new laws have been signed permitting motorsport to take place on closed public roads, paving the way for prominent events like the Jim Clark Rally and Mull Rally to return to the annual calendar. Read more

The MSA congratulates Team UK and Racing Steps Foundation Driver Jack Harvey on his first GP3 Series race victory, secured on home soil at Silverstone today (Saturday 29 June) in support of the Santander British Grand Prix. Read more

The British Grand Prix at Silverstone this weekend (28-30 June) will be made possible by a dedicated army of 1,166 trained volunteers, performing a range of key roles that are vital to the safe and fair running of the event. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) congratulates the three British drivers who stood on each step of the 81st Le Mans 24 Hours podium yesterday (Sunday 23 June): winner Allan McNish, runner-up Anthony Davidson and third-placed Oliver Jarvis. Read more

The Motor Sports Association, the governing body of UK motor sport, has teamed up with Sky Sports F1 to put the spotlight on Britain’s next generation of potential Formula One stars. Read more