MSA launches new 2019 British Kart Championships


In a bold move designed to raise the standards and prestige of the pinnacle of UK Karting, the MSA has announced plans to manage and promote the British Kart Championships; through an operating division known as Karting UK Operations.

For 2019 the structure of championships will be simplified, with all National titles being dropped, so that the British titles have unparalleled prestige and kudos.

The British Kart Championships programme will initially consist of seven classes, split into three championship groupings:

  • TKM: Junior, Senior
  • Rotax: Junior, Senior
  • IAME: Cadet, Junior, Senior.

Honda Cadets will run as part of the series, but with their own championship title.

Each grouping of classes will be run together at five or six championship rounds, each run over two or three days, giving a minimum of fifteen weekends of outstanding competition and entertainment.

The events will be promoted under the Karting UK banner, and will feature the latest technology race management with CCTV and timing systems. A race village will be established at each venue, with full race control and management.

At the same time, the MSA made it clear that the ambition is to increase the strength of the sport throughout. The objective is to make the sport easier to access, reduce the barriers to entry and seek ways to lower the cost of competition.

MSA Chairman, David Richards CBE, commented: ““We see it as natural that the MSA should take control of the pinnacle of UK Karting, as this sends a signal of our intent for the sport.

“Karting is a vitally important element of UK motorsport, and needs specific focus and solutions. We will be working with all of the karting community, from the manufacturers, the competitors, the teams, the circuits and clubs around the country to find the right solutions from grass roots to the new British Kart Championships.”

Watergate Bay Speed Hillclimb has launched the second running of the popular motorsport weekend, as entries open for the September 14/15 closed-road speed event based near Newquay in Cornwall. Read more

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

Entries are open for the 2018 MSA Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards, recognising most promising young members of the motorsport media aged 30 and under. Read more

Sébastien Ogier may have won 44 times in his stellar FIA World Rally Championship career, but few of his victories have been more hard-fought than the one he achieved at Dayinsure Wales Rally GB this weekend (4-7 October), as the Ford star overcame a... Read more

The scene is set for an epic finish to the 2018 edition of Dayinsure Wales Rally GB tomorrow, after the momentum in this year’s FIA World Rally Championship title fight swung dramatically back and forth in front of thousands of enthralled fans in the... Read more

The world’s leading rally drivers treated fans to an awe-inspiring display of high-speed thrills and spectacular sideways slides through the legendary north Wales forests today, as spectators celebrated the coronation of a homegrown British champion ... Read more