Mansell reunited with British Grand Prix Trophy at MSA HQ


Former F1 champion Nigel Mansell visited Motor Sports House yesterday to be re-presented with the British Grand Prix trophy that he won four times between 1986 and 1992.

The famous gold-plated trophy – officially known as the Royal Automobile Club trophy – has been awarded to the winner of the British Grand Prix since 1948. Little is known of its origins but it is Victorian hallmarked and features the Eton motto, ‘Floreat Etona’ (‘let Eton Flourish’). Therefore it may have been a gift to the Royal Automobile Club from founder member Sir Charles Rolls, an alumnus of Eton.

Mansell was also re-presented with the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the previous year’s F1 season. It was first presented in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain’s first F1 champion in 1958 but tragically died a year later.

MSA Chief Executive Rob Jones presented both trophies before introducing Mansell to the staff and explaining the functions and remit of the modern MSA as the governing body of UK motor sports.

Mansell said: “Rob Jones mentioned to me at the British Grand Prix that I had won the prestigious Hawthorn Trophy seven times, still more than any other driver, yet I didn’t recall ever having been presented with the trophy. We then got on to discussing the British Grand Prix Trophy which again despite winning it five times (British Grand Prix 1986, 1987, 1991, 1992 and Grand Prix of Europe 1985), I didn’t recall having been presented with either so I am delighted to visit the MSA and to be formally handed these iconic motor sport trophies.”

“On behalf of all competitors I would like to thank the MSA for all that they do to keep the UK at the top of world motor sport.”

Jones said: “Nigel is one of the great heroes of British motor sport, having earned a reputation as one of the toughest and most dogged drivers in grand prix racing. He has been a household name since winning the 1992 F1 title and remains heavily involved in British motor sport, particularly as proprietor of the Mansell Raceway kart track in Devon. It was a pleasure to reunite him with the British Grand Prix and Hawthorn Memorial Trophies, and to see how interested he was to hear about the MSA’s current activities, particularly in the development of UK motor sports.”

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

Motorsport UK and BARC (TOCA) Limited today announced that an extension has been signed between the two parties, contracting TOCA to continue to operate and promote the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) until the end of 2026. Read more

The MSA is pleased to announce regulation changes that widen the range of eligible tyres in historic stage rallying. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) has launched a tender process for the organisation and promotion of the MSA British Endurance Championship from 2016. Read more

In a huge boost for UK rallying, International Motor Sports (IMS) – commercial subsidiary of the MSA –has reached agreement with the Welsh Government to continue its support of Wales Rally GB until the end of 2018. Read more

The MSA has an exciting opportunity for a Development Assistant on a six-month internship basis, working on the MSA Academy and Go Motorsport programmes. Read more