Mitchell and Pigott win Renault/MSA media awards


The MSA and Renault UK are delighted to announce that Scott Mitchell and Adam Pigott have been named the Renault MSA Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year respectively.

Established in 2002, the awards are designed to recognise the most promising journalists and photographers aged 30 or under working within British motor sport.

Mitchell, aged 22 from Kent, is currently assistant editor of Autosport, a role that sees him edit the weekly magazine’s national section covering the spectrum of UK motor sport. He submitted a strong array of news and features, showcasing writing talent and a knack for uncovering exclusive stories. He will receive a trophy and a cheque for £1000 at the MSA Night of Champions at the Royal Automobile Club on 24 January. He also wins a year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW), the world’s largest organisation of automotive editorial professionals.

Mitchell said: “It's great to be recognised by Renault and the MSA with this award. I've had a great year and it is very humbling to know that others think so highly of the job I have done. I'm very proud to join the list of winners as the roll of honour speaks for itself.

“It's been a long year but this is a great boost ahead of 2015 and a fantastic addition to my CV. Autosport was my magazine of choice as a kid but I never thought I would be part of it – let alone start my career here. It's a privilege and I know that's a large part of how I have been able to win the Young Journalist of the Year Award, so I'm very grateful to everyone I've worked with."

Pigott, aged 22 from Lincolnshire, photographs an array of different motor sports, with particular focus on sports cars and rallying. His submission displayed a great mix of artistry and technical ability, capturing stunning images of the sport’s people, cars and events. He will also collect a trophy and £1000 at the Night of Champions. In addition his winning images will be framed and displayed at the Royal Automobile Club and Motor Sports House, and he receives provisional membership of the GoMW.

Pigott said: “I'm absolutely over the moon that I've been awarded this prestigious accolade. I still can't quite believe it! It's been a long term goal of mine ever since I started photography. Having seen the emerging talent in the industry over the past year I really didn't expect a result like this. It's a huge boost to my career moving forwards and I can't wait to see where it takes me. A big thanks to everyone who has helped and supported me over the years.”

Jeremy Townsend, Renault UK Communications Director, added: “Both awards presented us with a real dilemma – how to choose just two winners from an array of very strong entries. Of course, it was a nice problem to have and we thoroughly enjoyed canvassing all the submissions. Scott and Adam deserve every bit of their success and join an esteemed list of previous winners. We are delighted to be able to aid their progress by continuing to support these great awards.”

Lawrence Butcher, now aged 31, was judged Highly Commended in the journalism category for his impressive work across technical titles such as Race Engine Technology. Tom Loomes and Dan Bathie, both 22, were designated Highly Commended for their photography. All receive a year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers.

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

Motorsport UK and BARC (TOCA) Limited today announced that an extension has been signed between the two parties, contracting TOCA to continue to operate and promote the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) until the end of 2026. Read more

The MSA has become the first FIA National Sporting Authority (ASN) to achieve the highest environmental accreditation in the FIA Institute's Sustainability Programme. Read more

The The Motor Sports Association (MSA) is delighted to announce the winners of the JLT MSA Club and Volunteer of the Year Awards, plus the confirmation of another British volunteer as the 2014 FIA Best Marshal Award winner. Read more

Motor Sports Council, UK motor sport’s rule-making body, will have a dedicated marshals’ representative from 2015 to help ensure that issues affecting volunteers are tabled at the highest level of motor sports governance. Read more

The MSA has published an online guide to the tyres permitted for use on Special Stages on the Forestry Estate. Stage Rally Tyre List 6: Registered Tyres Patterns applies to all Stage Rallies run to MSA Regulation R.1.4.1. It shows the registered patt... Read more