New Directors appointed to MSA Board


The MSA welcomes five new Directors in 2018, led by David Richards CBE as the new Chairman of the MSA Board.

Non-Executive Directors may be appointed by the Motor Sports Council, the Nominations Committee of the MSA Board and the Royal Automobile Club. Additionally, the MSA Chief Executive, Finance Director and General Secretary serve as Executive Directors.

For 2018, the Motor Sports Council has nominated four new non-Executive Directors: Mike Broad, former British Rally Champion co-driver and Chairman of the MSA Rally Championships Steering Group; David Lapworth, Technical Director of Prodrive and Chairman of the MSA Technical Committee; Richard Norbury, Chairman of the MSA Judicial Committee; and Ian Watson, General Manager of the British Automobile Racing Club (BARC) and Chairman of the MSA Race Committee.

The Royal Automobile Club has nominated its Chairman-elect, Ben Cussons, to return to the MSA Board. Cussons, who is an active competitor, previously served as a Director from 2002-14.

In making way for the new appointments, the MSA says farewell not only to Alan Gow after 12 years as MSA Chairman, but also to Dennis Carter, Tom Purves and Mike Sones. The MSA thanks them all for their excellent service as members of the MSA Board.

The MSA Directors for 2018 are as follows:

  • David Richards CBE (MSA Chairman)
  • Simon Blunt (MSA General Secretary)
  • Mike Broad (Motor Sports Council)
  • Ben Cussons (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Danesh Gangahar (MSA Finance Director)
  • Christine Gaskell MBE (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Tim Jackson (Nominations Committee of MSA Board appointment)
  • Rob Jones (MSA Chief Executive)
  • David Lapworth (Motor Sports Council)
  • Nicky Moffitt (automatic appointment as Chairman of Regional Committee)
  • Richard Norbury (Motor Sports Council)
  • Rod Parkin (Nominations Committee of MSA Board appointment)
  • Peter Read (Royal Automobile Club)
  • Tony Scott Andrews (automatic appointment as Chairman of Motor Sports Council)
  • Ian Watson (Motor Sports Council).

Do you want to help deliver a bold new vision for UK motorsport? An exciting opportunity has arisen for a Commercial Manager to join the national governing body, Motorsport UK. Motorsport UK represents over 45,000 competitors and volunteers and ove... Read more

Do you want to help deliver a bold new vision for UK motorsport? An exciting opportunity has been created to join the national governing body as a Graphic Designer. Read more

Enniskillen Motor Club and Northern Irish marshal John Comiskey have been named the JLT Motorsport UK Club and Volunteer of the Year, respectively, after another year of outstanding entries showcasing the very best of the sport. Read more

Motorsport UK has officially launched its new membership programme, offering a range of benefits and discounts designed to provide peace of mind, offset the cost of competition and get members closer to the action. Read more

Nathalie McGloin has won the BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy, presented annually in recognition of outstanding achievement by women in motor sport, and will receive the prestigious accolade at the MSA Night of Champions in London on 27 January. Read more

The MSA is seeking a Go Motorsport Regional Development Officer (RDO) to cover the South East of England. Read more

The MSA has entered negotiations with Zip Kart on behalf of LeCont as the preferred supplier of tyres for the OK and OK-Junior kart classes for 2018. Read more

The Motor Sports Association (MSA) regrets that two competitors have lost their lives as the result of an accident on the Loco 2 Stages rally today (29 December 2017). Read more