Seven co-drivers chosen for MSA Academy programme


Seven promising young rally co-drivers have been selected for exclusive coaching on the 2017 MSA Academy development programme, led by Nicky Grist and Paul Spooner.

The initiative aims to support the next generation of UK co-drivers and help ensure that they remain the best in the world. It is primarily workshop-based but the tailored approach to development means that individual support is also available.

The latest seven selected for the programme are:

  • Chris Sharpe-Simkiss (23)
  • Harry Thomas (21)
  • Jon Hawkins (25)
  • Osian Wyn (22)
  • Peredur Davies (24)
  • Sinclair Young (26)
  • Tom Murphy (19).

Sharpe-Simkiss has competed in over 150 events and aims to contest national championships in 2018. “This is a fantastic opportunity for me to develop my co-driving further and has reassured me that all the hard work I’ve put in since starting out has paid off,” he said. “I can’t wait to get started and tap into Nicky and Paul’s vast knowledge and experience.”

Grist, a 21-time WRC rally winner, added: “We had an unprecedented volume of applicants for the 2018 MSA Academy co-driver programme. Choosing the final seven was not an easy task but we have a great group of up-and-coming youngsters who will benefit massively from this unique experience to take them to the top of the sport. Both Paul and I are really looking forward to working with them, starting at Dayinsure Wales Rally GB in just over a week’s time.”

Meanwhile 2016 members Aaron Johnston (22) and Keaton Williams (22) will continue on a graduate programme, with on-going access to Grist and Spooner’s expertise.

A view from the outside in, looking at Motorsport UK's various roles as a governing body. Motorsport UK has worked in the background as a governing body for over 100 years, but is undergoing a change of culture and mission. Since the arrival of Chai... Read more

We are aware that a number of our licence holders will be attending events which take place over the weekend following the Brexit deadline and that whilst you may be able to exit the UK without issue, it is possible that if a deal with the EU is not ... Read more

As Ott Tanak and Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC celebrate their first British win, one of my main reflections is how the 2000 marshals, motor clubs and volunteers have once again helped deliver an amazing Wales Rally GB 2019. You make such an extraordinary ... Read more

Motorsport UK is pleased to offer members an exclusive discount on tickets to this year’s Lancaster Insurance Classic Motor Show, with Discovery. Read more

MSA Bambino kart racing for competitors as young as seven could be introduced from 2018 after a trial race at Buckmore Park proved successful. Read more

Many MSA members will be aware of Vnuk, a 2014 European Court judgement that threatens the future of all UK motorsport. Read more

The MSA Academy congratulates Team UK’s Chris Ingram on being crowned the 2017 FIA European U27 Junior Rally Champion and ERC3 Champion on Rally Liepaja, the final round of the championship (8 September). Read more

The MSA Academy congratulates its Team UK star Seb Morris on being crowned the 2017 British GT Champion in the season finale at Donington Park (24 September). Read more