Specialist committees: MSA requests nominations for 2018 membership


The MSA is seeking nominations for individuals to join the Specialist Committees that represent the interests of the various ‘disciplines’ of motorsport.

The Specialist Committees meet two or three times a year, normally at Motor Sports House, to discuss and debate new regulations and other issues. The following Specialist Committees may have vacancies available for next year:

  • Autotest Committee
  • Cross Country Committee
  • Historic Committee
  • Kart Committee
  • Kart Technical Sub Committee
  • Race Committee
  • Rallies Committee
  • Autocross & Rallycross Sub Committee
  • Dragster Sub Committee
  • Sprint & Hill Climb Sub Committee
  • Trials Committee

All applicants must be members of an MSA recognised motor club or Regional Association, which must ‘sponsor’ the application. However there are no formal qualifications required other than a commitment to and experience in motorsport. The role is entirely voluntary, although expenses will be paid to cover travel to meetings at Motor Sports House, and the appointment is normally for a three-year term.

How to apply
Applicants should submit a brief CV of their motor sport involvement and achievements, including any relevant qualifications, together with a letter supporting your nomination from an MSA-recognised club or Regional Association. The Club or Regional Association will forward the application to Andrea Richards
at Motor Sports House, Riverside Park, Colnbrook, SL3 0HG. This must be done as soon as possible as applications must be received before 2 June 2017.

Please note any applications received after Friday 2 June 2017 will not be considered.

Watergate Bay Speed Hillclimb has launched the second running of the popular motorsport weekend, as entries open for the September 14/15 closed-road speed event based near Newquay in Cornwall. Read more

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

Suze Endean has been appointed as the new MSA Development Manager and takes up position on 27 February. Read more

Those who may have missed last month's MSA Extra are advised that the MSA has published an article on Vnuk, a European Court Judgement that could potentially harm UK motorsport, Read more

The MSA has awarded MSA National Championship titles to the Formula TKM National Championships, adding further prestige to a series that counts an F1 world champion among its past winners and which boasts an impressive entry this year. Read more

The process to identify the next MSA Chairman is under way, arising from confirmation that incumbent Chairman Alan Gow will retire on 31 December 2017, having held the position since 1 January 2006. Read more