Todt and Stoker crown MSA British Champions


FIA President Jean Todt and FIA Deputy President (Sport) Graham Stoker crowned the 2017 MSA British Champions during the MSA’s prestigious Night of Champions ceremony in London on Saturday (27 January).

Alan Gow, MSA Chairman from 2006-2017, hosted the winners of UK motor sport’s most prestigious titles for the annual awards evening at the Royal Automobile Club. They were joined by a series of special award winners, each recognised for outstanding achievement in their areas of contribution to the sport. Master of Ceremonies Steve Rider was joined by colleague Louise Goodman.

Special guests included not only Todt and Stoker but also the likes of legendary commentator Murray Walker OBE, who was presented with the MSA Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest accolade bestowed by the MSA Board. Sir Frank Williams was also recognised with the MSA Lifetime Achievement Award and sent a video message in his absence. Meanwhile Billy Monger was presented with his 2018 MSA Competition Licence, as the young racer prepares to resume his single-seater racing career.

Alan Gow said: “The Night of Champions is our chance to celebrate those who have excelled in their chosen discipline to win the premier titles in UK motor sport: the MSA British Championships. It also presents a great opportunity to recognise some of the outstanding, but perhaps largely unseen, achievements by members of the British motor sport community who give their time to enable this great sport to take place.

“On behalf of the MSA, I would like to congratulate all of the night’s winners on their achievements in 2017. I also wish to thank Jean and Graham for taking the time to join us once again to reflect on another exceptional season of UK motor sport.”

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Taylor Barnard
MSA British Junior Kart Championship: Harry Thompson
MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Mark Kimber
MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Dan Clark
MSA British Car Trial Championship: Rupert North
MSA British Sporting Trials Championship: Roland Uglow
MSA British Autotest Championship: Richard Pinkney
MSA British Sprint Championship: Heather Calder
MSA British Drag Racing Championship: Andy Robinson
MSA British Hill Climb Championship: Trevor Willis
MSA British Cross Country Championship: Martin Gould and Simon Kerfoot
MSA British Rallycross Championship: Nathan Heathcote
MSA British Historic Rally Championship: Jason Pritchard and Phil Clarke
MSA British Junior Rally Championship: Callum Devine and Keith Moriarty
MSA British Manufacturers Rally Championship: Ford
MSA British Rally Championship: Keith Cronin and Mikie Galvin
British GT Championship: Seb Morris and Rick Parfitt Jnr
F4 British Championship – Certified by FIA, powered by EcoBoost: Jamie Caroline
BRDC British F3 Championship: Enaam Ahmed
MSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: BMW/West Surrey Racing
MSA British Touring Car Championship: Ashley Sutton.

The special award winners were:

MSA Lifetime Achievement Award: Murray Walker OBE
MSA Lifetime Achievement Award: Sir Frank Williams
JLT MSA Club of the Year: Southsea Motor Club
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Overall: Barry Arundell
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Clerks & Stewards: Jonathan Millar
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Marshals: Brian Wilson
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Medical, Safety, Recue & Recovery: Colin Whitter
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Technical Official: Sue Bateman
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Other: Howard Joynt
MSA Young Journalist of the Year: Stephen Lickorish
MSA Young Photographer of the Year: Matt Sayle
iZone MSA Young Driver of the Year: Will Tregurtha
Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy: M-Sport
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Nathalie McGloin.

For details of all the award winners, please click here.

Karting UK is pleased to announce the 2019 British Long and Short Circuit Gearbox Kart Championships, in a move that signals Motorsport UK's commitment to promoting karting in all its forms. Read more

Motorsport UK welcomes a draft report from the European Parliament's Internal Market and Consumer Protection Committee (IMCO), which recommends that vehicles used exclusively for motorsport should not be impacted by VNUK, an insurance issue that has ... Read more

In advance of the 2019 Motorsport UK licence renewal window, the governing body has announced an initiative putting members at the heart of everything that they do. Read more

Do you want to help deliver a bold new vision for UK motorsport? An exciting new role has been created to head up Karting at the national governing body, Motorsport UK. Read more

The MSA has extended the deadline for applications to be considered to represent the UK in the 2018 CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy to 12.00pm on Monday 29 January. Read more

The MSA is continuing to engage with the Department for Transport (DfT) on Vnuk, a 2014 European Court judgement that threatens the future of all UK motorsport. Read more

The MSA has successfully applied for FIA grant funding on behalf of Dare To Be Different (D2BD) to widen the women in motorsport campaign’s reach. Read more

Motofest Coventry will become the first speed event organised under the new closed-roads legislation in England when it brings competitive motorsport to the city on 2-3 June. Read more