Todt and Surtees crown British motor sports champions


FIA President Jean Todt and Formula 1 legend John Surtees crowned the 2014 MSA British Champions during the Night of Champions ceremony in London on Saturday (24 January).

Alan Gow, Chairman of the Motor Sports Association (MSA), welcomed the winners of UK motor sport’s most prestigious titles to the Royal Automobile Club on Pall Mall for the annual awards evening. They were joined by a series of special award winners, each recognised for outstanding achievement throughout the past year.

Todt, who leads world motor sport’s governing body, took the opportunity to praise the breadth and depth of UK motor sport, while paying tribute to the MSA’s efforts to promote road safety messages in support of the FIA Action for Road Safety campaign.

Surtees, the only world champion on two wheels and four, entertained guests by recollecting the 50th anniversary celebrations of his 1964 F1 title.

Respected broadcaster Steve Rider returned as Master of Ceremonies and was joined by long-time colleague Louise Goodman.

Alan Gow, MSA Chairman, said: “The MSA Night of Champions is always a great occasion and a highlight of the domestic motor sport calendar. But the evening is not ours; it is our champions’ night and we were delighted to welcome them to the Royal Automobile Club to celebrate their achievements and successes. We were also honoured to have our FIA President, Jean Todt, with us throughout the evening and thank him for his contribution to such a special occasion.”

The Champions honoured on the night were:

MSA British Cadet Kart Championship: Teddy Wilson
MSA British Short Circuit Kart Championship: Henry Easthope
MSA British Long Circuit Kart Championship: Paul Platt
MSA British Autotest Championship: Richard Pinkney
MSA British Car Trial Championship: Mark Hoppe
MSA British Sporting Trials Championship: John Fack
MSA British Drag Racing Championship: Andy Robinson
MSA British Sprint Championship: Colin Calder
MSA British Hill Climb Championship: Scott Moran
MSA British Rallycross Championship: Julian Godfrey
MSA British Cross Country Championship: Mike Moran and Tony Coid
MSA British Historic Rally Championship: David Stokes and Guy Weaver
MSA British Junior Rally Championship: Gus Greensmith
MSA British Manufacturers Rally Championship: Citroen UK
MSA British Rally Championship: Daniel McKenna and Arthur Kierans
British GT Championship: Marco Attard
British Formula 3 Championship: Hong Wei Cao
MSA British Touring Car Championship Manufacturer: MG
MSA British Touring Car Championship: Colin Turkington

There was also a series of special awards:

JLT MSA Club of the Year: Solway Car Club
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Overall: Richard Ashton
JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year – Marshal: Karen Kearns
FIA Best Marshal: Lynne Kenall
Renault MSA Young Journalist of the Year: Scott Mitchell
Renault MSA Young Photographer of the Year: Adam Pigott
BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy: Claire Williams
RSF MSA Young Driver of the Year: Sam Bilham

For details of all the award winners, please click here.

A view from the outside in, looking at Motorsport UK's various roles as a governing body. Motorsport UK has worked in the background as a governing body for over 100 years, but is undergoing a change of culture and mission. Since the arrival of Chai... Read more

We are aware that a number of our licence holders will be attending events which take place over the weekend following the Brexit deadline and that whilst you may be able to exit the UK without issue, it is possible that if a deal with the EU is not ... Read more

As Ott Tanak and Toyota Gazoo Racing WRC celebrate their first British win, one of my main reflections is how the 2000 marshals, motor clubs and volunteers have once again helped deliver an amazing Wales Rally GB 2019. You make such an extraordinary ... Read more

Motorsport UK is pleased to offer members an exclusive discount on tickets to this year’s Lancaster Insurance Classic Motor Show, with Discovery. Read more

The 2015 MSA/FIA Action for Road Safety Film Studies Competition, supported by Allianz and the FIA Road Safety Grant Programme, is now open. Young people aged 16 to 24 are invited to submit short films highlighting one of the FIA’s 10 Golden Rules fo... Read more

Sportscar racing legend and ex-F1 driver Allan McNish was delighted to help the Motor Sports Association launch Race ‘n’ Respect, a new code of conduct for Bambino and Cadet karting, at Autosport International today (Saturday 10 January). Read more

The promoters of the new-for-2016 MSA British Rally Championship have confirmed that when the series returns to action next year it will feature 4-wheel drive machinery in its leading classes, supported by a strong 2-wheel drive class structure for c... Read more

The MSA welcomes the final recommendations of the Scottish Government’s Motor Sport Event Safety Review Group regarding spectator safety at multi-venue stage rallies in Scotland. Read more