UK clubs & volunteers recognised with national & international awards


The The Motor Sports Association (MSA) is delighted to announce the winners of the JLT MSA Club and Volunteer of the Year Awards, plus the confirmation of another British volunteer as the 2014 FIA Best Marshal Award winner.

JLT MSA Club of the Year

The JLT MSA Club of the Year is Solway Car Club, winning £1,000 and a trophy, which will be presented at the MSA Night of Champions on 24 January at the Royal Automobile Club in London.

Solway Car Club was nominated by the Scottish Association of Car Clubs. The 57-year-old club is almost hidden away in the extreme south west of Scotland and is a veritable treasure, primarily thanks to its strong working relationship with the unique local MOD facility at Dundrennan firing range.

The club runs 22 events a year, with particular focus on affordable grassroots events, especially for juniors. It has introduced first aid certified training for marshals, obtained amateur radio licences for 15 members, and travelled widely to ensure that MSA training was attended and maintained by their licensed officials. The Club gives a high priority to safety in all it does, constantly scrutinising its own events to look for further improvements. It has also successfully raised money for local and national charities, and has embraced social networking opportunities.

Truro & District Motor Club was judged second overall, winning £500 and an MSA flag trophy. In third was Chelmsford Motor Club, collecting £250 and a trophy.

Three clubs were Highly Commended:

  • Forresters Car Club
  • Teifi Valley Motor Club
  • Bath Motor Club.

JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year

Richard Ashton, of Calder Rescue, has been named the JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year for his sterling efforts in highlighting the importance of safety among clubs and marshals nationwide. He receives a trophy and £250, which will be presented at January’s MSA Night of Champions ceremony.

As an MSA Training Instructor, Ashton has undertaken innumerable safety and first aid training sessions over many years. He makes marshals aware of how they can actively help at the scene of any incident, and also continues to encourage new people into the sport as marshals and rescue crew with his infections enthusiasm.

Also receiving a prize cheque and trophy at the Night of Champions is Oxford Motor Club’s Karen Kearns, winner of the Marshal category. This year she has recruited over 200 marshals to run her club’s new Endurance Road Rally; competitors remarked that it was the most comprehensively marshalled event they had ever seen. In addition to her role with Oxford Motor Club, Kearns volunteers on other club events.

A number of other volunteers were Highly Commended for their efforts throughout 2014:

  • Steward/Clerk: Alan Bolton, from Northern Ireland, and Roger Fisher, from Cumbria
  • Technical Official: Gary Nicholls and Tony Michael, from Essex
  • Medical/Rescue/Recovery: Ian Culbert, from Northern Ireland
  • Also: Colin Anderson, from Devon, and Steve & Julie Hill, from Northumberland

FIA Best Marshal

Lynne Kendall, the 2013 JLT MSA Volunteer of the Year, has been named the FIA Best Marshal, becoming the third British winner of this prestigious international award in four years.

The FIA accolade recognises Kendall’s dual roles as a Marshalling and Training Instructor. Mumtaz Tahincioglu, President of the FIA Volunteers and Officials Commission, said: “Lynne’s long-term involvement and leadership impressed the Awards Committee and she stood out amongst the many motivated and efficient personalities who have played a major role in motor sport or helped to improve it. She is very deserving to be recognised.”

Allan Dean-Lewis MBE, MSA Director of Training and Education, added: “The MSA has now been successful in gaining FIA Officials Awards in three out of the four years that this competition has been running, which says much about the quality of our officials in the UK and the esteem with which UK volunteers are held globally.”

Kendall will be presented with her FIA award at the MSA Night of Champions in January.

Motorsport UK Academy Team UK member Jamie Chadwick has been shortlisted in the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards 2019. Read more

After receiving questions from clubs on the new permit structures for 2020, there have been a number of questions arising on the implementation of these changes, including around the new RS Clubman licence. Read more

The 2019 Motorsport UK Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards are open to entries from promising young members of the motorsport media aged 30 and under. Read more

It’s been a weekend of highs and lows for Team UK in the inaugural FIA Motorsport Games based at Italy’s Vallelunga Circuit (31 October – 3 November). Read more

Motor Sports Council, UK motor sport’s rule-making body, will have a dedicated marshals’ representative from 2015 to help ensure that issues affecting volunteers are tabled at the highest level of motor sports governance. Read more

The MSA has published an online guide to the tyres permitted for use on Special Stages on the Forestry Estate. Stage Rally Tyre List 6: Registered Tyres Patterns applies to all Stage Rallies run to MSA Regulation R.1.4.1. It shows the registered patt... Read more

The MSA – governing body of UK motor sport – sends its warmest congratulations to Lewis Hamilton on being crowned the 2014 FIA Formula One World Drivers’ Champion after an incredible season. Read more

The MSA congratulates MSA Team UK racer Alex Lynn on winning the GP3 Series title at Abu Dhabi’s Yas Marina Circuit today. Read more