Updates from the British and National Championships



Round one: Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally, 16.02.19

Reigning British Rally Champion Matt Edwards took a sensational victory on the Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally to kick-start his title defence with new co-driver Patrick Walsh.

Former champion David Bogie and his navigator John Rowan brought their Skoda Fabia R5 home in second place, while Marty McCormack drove his similar machine to a fine third overall with Barney Mitchell reading the notes.

Tom Cave returned after a year’s absence and pushed the previous champions to the limit in the fight for a podium position. Two punctures on the final stage dropped Cave and co-driver Dale Bowen down the order and with no more spares in the car they were forced to retire.

1 Matt Edwards/Patrick Walsh (Ford Fiesta R5) 54m58.7s
2 David Bogie/John Rowan (Škoda Fabia R5) 55m25.2s
3 Martin McCormack/Barney Mitchell (Škoda Fabia R5) 56m06.7s

Championship standings
1 Matt Edwards – 25 points
2 David Bogie – 18
3 Marty McCormack – 15


Round one: Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally, 16.02.19

Russ Thompson scored maximum championship points on the opening round, the Llandudno-based Visit Conwy Cambrian Rally.

Thompson and co-driver Andy Murphy were the first crew to leave the town centre start and set the pace on the opening stages. They went on to finish second overall behind Steve Simpson, who was not registered for championship points, and his navigator Mark Glennester. Glennerster collected the maximum points haul for registered co-drivers.

Scott Faulkner and co-driver Gareth Parry battled with championship newcomer Richard Hill for the final podium place, with Faulkner coming out on top.

1 Stephen Simpson/Mark Glennerster (Ford Fiesta) 41m52.1s
2 Russ Thompson/Andy Murphy (Mitsubishi Evo IX) 41m53.5s
3 Scott Faulkner/Gareth Parry (Mitsubishi Evo IX) 42m22s

Championship standings
1 Russ Thompson – 30 points
2 Scott Faulkner – 27
3 Richard Hill – 25

Watergate Bay Speed Hillclimb has launched the second running of the popular motorsport weekend, as entries open for the September 14/15 closed-road speed event based near Newquay in Cornwall. Read more

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

Fancy something a bit different this weekend? The 64th edition of The Vintage Sports-Car Club's Pomeroy Trophy takes place on Silverstone's Grand Prix Circuit tomorrow (Saturday 16 Feb). Read more

The Vnuk insurance issue threatening motorsport took another positive turn today, as the European Parliament formally adopted a new proposal excluding motorsport from the Motor Insurance Directive (MID). Read more

Applications are open for the next AASE programme – a two-year course for drivers aged 16-18, delivered by the Motorsport UK Academy in conjunction with Loughborough College. Read more

Give the gift of motorsport this Valentine’s Day! Until midnight on 14 February, we’re offering 25% off our Motorsport UK starter packs. Read more