Updates from the British and National championships


Toyo Tires British Rallycross Championship


Five-time champion Julian Godfrey won the opening round of the championship at Silverstone to take the early points lead.

Godfrey dominated all three qualifying rounds and the final to claim victory ahead of three-time Irish Rallycross Champion Derek Tohill.

Pat Doran came out on top of a battle for the remaining podium position with Steve Hill, as Mike Manning overcame early event problems to finish fifth. Steve Mundy was sixth.

1 Julian Godfrey (Mitsubishi Mirage) 4m26.577s
2 Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta) +2.587s
3 Pat Doran (Citroen C4) +12.395s

Championship standings
1 Julian Godfrey – 30 points
2 Derek Tohill – 27
3 Pat Doran – 25

SBD Motorsport British Sprint Championship


Steve Broughton won the opening round of the championship at Castle Combe, breaking the two-litre class record in the process.

Matt Hillam took second place, ahead of Peter Goulding. Reigning champion Heather Calder suffered broken suspension during the first run-off, leaving herself and her father Colin unable to complete the day.

1 Steve Broughton (2.0L XE SBD Dallara) 115.67 seconds
2 Matt Hillam (SBD Dallara F3RB01) 117.44
3 Peter Goulding (mygale ff200) 118.52

British Sporting Trials Championship


Ian Wright decimated the field at the Presidents Trial, winning the event for the fourth time in a decade.

Peter Fensom closed to within a point at the end of three rounds. The podium was completed by Roland Uglow, after Simon Kingsley got caught over some tree roots for a costly eight dropping him to fourth.

These roots proved very costly to many competitors during a very dry day, with Kingsley and Uglow dropping over half their points on this hill alone.

1 Ian Wright, Sherpa Indy, 33
2 Peter Fenson, Hamilton, 34
3 Roland Uglow, Crossle, 41

Watergate Bay Speed Hillclimb has launched the second running of the popular motorsport weekend, as entries open for the September 14/15 closed-road speed event based near Newquay in Cornwall. Read more

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

The latest news from the Motorsport UK British Rally Championship, Scottish Rally Championship and British Sporting Trials Championship. Read more

Motorsport UK has paid tribute to Charlie Whiting, who sadly passed this morning (14 March). He was 66. Read more

In one of the most significant changes to the administration of motorsport in the UK, the governing body has adopted new articles of association, which bring it in line with Sport England’s Code of Governance and best practice. Read more

Meet the young women representing the UK in the FIA Girls on Track Karting Challenge at Le Mans this weekend (8-10 March). Read more