Wales Rally GB 2017 route announced


Few events will epitomise Wales’s ‘Year of Legends’ better than the Rally of Legends, Dayinsure Wales Rally GB, the UK’s round of the FIA World Rally Championship on 26-29 October.

Announced today, the competitive route features 20 special stages totalling 180 miles in the Welsh forests. Adding to challenge, the 2017 route reintroduces two night stages in the Dyfnant and Aberhirnant forests on Saturday evening. Saturday’s schedule also includes a return of the family-friendly RallyFest at Cholmondeley Castle.

The service park will be based at the Deeside Rally Village in the grounds of the Toyota UK engine manufacturing plant. The Ceremonial Start and Ceremonial Finish will take place in Conwy County, and there will be a return to Chester on the Friday evening.

Ken Skates, Cabinet Secretary for Economy and Infrastructure: “This year’s Wales Rally GB promises to be another spectacular event and a fitting way to draw Wales’ Year of Legends to a close. Wales is home to some of the world’s most legendary rally stages – the event is our opportunity to showcase the epic Welsh landscapes and scenery as some of the legends of the sport test their skills against what the Welsh landscape throws at them.”

Admittance to the Deeside Rally Village is free, while tickets for the competitive action are now on sale at

Thursday 26 October
Ceremonial Start: County Conwy

Friday 27 October
SS1: Myherin 1
SS2: Sweet Lamb 1
SS3: Hafren 1
Regroup: Newtown
SS4: Myherin 2
SS5: Sweet Lamb 2
SS6: Hafren
Service: Deeside Rally Village

Saturday 28 October
SS7: Dyfi
SS8: Gartheiniog 1
Regroup: Corris
SS9: Dyfi 2
SS10: Gartheiniog 2 (Live TV)
SS11: Dyfnant 1
SS12: Cholmondeley Castle RallyFest
Service: Deeside Rally Village
SS13: Dyfnant 2
SS14: Aberhirnant
Service: Deeside Rally Village

Sunday 29 October
SS15: Gwydyr 1
SS16: Alwen 1
SS17: Brenig 1
SS18: Gwydyr 2
SS19: Alwen 2
Regroup: Brenig
SS20: Brenig 2 (Power Stage – Live TV)
Ceremonial Finish: Mostyn Street, Llandudno

Motorsport UK Academy Team UK member Jamie Chadwick has been shortlisted in the BT Sport Action Woman of the Year Awards 2019. Read more

After receiving questions from clubs on the new permit structures for 2020, there have been a number of questions arising on the implementation of these changes, including around the new RS Clubman licence. Read more

The 2019 Motorsport UK Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards are open to entries from promising young members of the motorsport media aged 30 and under. Read more

It’s been a weekend of highs and lows for Team UK in the inaugural FIA Motorsport Games based at Italy’s Vallelunga Circuit (31 October – 3 November). Read more

Two people have won a free season’s club level motorsport with Loughborough Car Club as part of its innovative Disabled Driver Scholarship. Read more

The MSA has submitted its response to the government's consultation on Vnuk, a 2014 European Court judgement that threatens the future of all UK motorsport. Read more

Coinciding with the inaugural FIA Volunteers Day, the MSA has launched a new monthly prize draw for marshals in recognition of their invaluable contribution to UK motorsport, with exclusive prizes on offer courtesy of drivers, teams, events, champion... Read more

The MSA is continuing to work with the FIA and the Global Institute for Motor Sport Safety on the investigation into the very serious accident that occurred during the F4 British Championship on Sunday 16 April 2017, involving cars #23 Billy Monger a... Read more