The Council


The Council

The Motorsports Council

The Council is custodian of the sporting power for the United Kingdom and the “Sporting Commission” under the FIA statutes. The Council’s responsibilities include the governance of UK motor sport, the improvement of safety, the regulation of motor sport by enforcing FIA regulations and drawing up National Rules of Competition, judicial matters and dispute resolution, and the development of motor sport together with the approval of British Championships.

How to raise issues with the Council

The Council welcomes contributions to its work. Issues should be raised with member clubs, who can pass ideas to the Regional Associations for consideration at Regional Committee and then to Council. Alternatively, Motorsport UK can be contacted directly.

The Prince Michael Award of Merit

The Council is responsible for bestowing this prestigious personal award made in recognition of outstanding meritorious service to British Motor Sport.

President of the Motorsport UK Council:HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO
Honorary Vice Presidents:Michael Southcombe; Ronnie Trouton MBE
Honorary Member:Graham Stoker

The Members for 2020 are:


Tom Purves [Chair]

Mike Broad

Hugh Chambers

Bernard Cottrell

Sandy Denham

Dan Evans

Philip Evans

Phil Foster

Sarah Fraser

Lorraine Gathercole

Alan Gow

Steve Johnson

Lucy Killington

David Lapworth

Ray Linton

Nicky Moffitt

Gary Nicholls

Richard Norbury

Jonathan Palmer

Paul Parker

Nick Pollitt

Gwyn Reynolds-Jones

David Richards CBE

George Robinson

Christopher Tate

Simon Taylor

Dr Paul Trafford

Darren Turner

Paul van Veggel

Ian Watson

Pete Weall

Chris Woodcock

The Board

Who we are

2019 Committee Members

2019 Committee Members