Inside Revolution: BTCC in Numbers

Wednesday 14 June 2023

Revolution is available online, as a PDF download and on the Revolution app (for both iOS and Android devices). 

The British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) is one of the flagship series in the UK. It was originally established in 1958 as the British Saloon Car Championship and was given its current name in 1987. Here are some of the stats behind it.


The number of points covering the top three in 2022’s title battle – Tom Ingram, Ash Sutton, and Jake Hill


The maximum number of points on offer per race, with 20 for a win, and one each for pole position, fastest lap, and leading a lap


The highest number of starts for a driver, held by Matt Neal


The percentage win rate for Alain Menu when he took 12 record victories in 1997


The year that a 2-litre class was established, which would eventually become Super Touring


The current record number of drivers’ titles, jointly held by Andy Rouse (75, 83, 84, 85) and Colin Turkington (09, 14, 18, 19)


The year which BTCC introduced its hybrid power unit – the first of a kind in Touring Cars


The highest number of race wins for a manufacturer, held by Ford


The car number of last year’s champion, Tom Ingram


The highest number of wins for a driver, held by Jason Plato, who retired last year


The number of events in this year’s Championship, each of which holds three rounds


The percentage of renewable fuel used by the BTCC cars – comprising 15 per cent second generation ethanol and 5 per cent renewable hydrocarbons.


The number of seasons the BTCC has been run to the current Next Generation Touring Car (NGCT) regulations


The current highest number of constructor title wins – held jointly by BMW and Vauxhall

For more information on the series, see

Discover more from Revolution