Motorsport UK Academy announces 2020 Team UK selection

Thursday 27 February 2020

Motorsport UK Academy Performance Managers, Tom Onslow-Cole, Andy Meyrick and James Wozencroft, have named their 2020 Team UK selections following a review of the 2019 season. Team UK represents the pinnacle of the Motorsport UK Academy talent and consists of a national group of elite drivers. The drivers are hand-picked to receive a bespoke 1:1 performance management programme as they progress towards the top level of this sport.

2020 will also see a progression of the Team UK programme which will include an enhanced training and development curriculum focused on both practical and educational opportunities.

Performance Manager, Tom Onslow-Cole said “It’s a great privilege to be involved with the Team UK programme and a great mark of its success to see drivers graduating into professional motorsport. This season we have four new drivers onto the team and this brings an exciting challenge to see how we can individually aid and support each athlete.”

The Team UK drivers selected for this year’s programme are;

Will Tregurtha* (ADAC GT Masters, VLN. 2018 Euro GT4 Vice Champion. 2017 British GT4 Champion)
Kiern Jewiss (British F3, British F4 Champion, British Karting Champion)
Ricky Collard (R-Motorsport Aston Martin Pro Driver, Blancpain GT race winner)
Jamie Chadwick (2019 W Series Champion, ROKIT Williams Racing Development Driver, 2019/2020 Asian F3)
Daniel Harper* (BMW Motorsport Junior, BRDC SuperStar, Porsche GB Junior driver 2018/2019)
Johnathan Hoggard* (British Formula 3 Championship 2019, Autosport Aston Martin award 2019, BRDC Superstar, F4 British Championship 2017&18, British Junior Karting Champion 2016)
Olli Caldwell (FIA Formula 3 Championship 2019, ADAC F4 and Italian F4 Championship 2018)
Callum Ilott (FIA F2 2020 & 2019, Ferrari Driver Academy 2018, FIA F3 European Championship 2017)
Tom Williams* (FIA Junior World Rally Championship 2019 & 2018)
Chris Ingram (FIA European Rally Champion 2019, European Rally Championship & FIA World Rally Championship-2 2018)
Rhys Yates (FIA World Rally Championship-2 & British Rally Championship 2020)
Jake Hughes (FIA Formula 3, BRDC Superstar, F3 Asian Championship)

*denotes newly selected drivers

Performance Manager, Andy Meyrick commented on the selections saying “I’m absolutely delighted to be back working with Olli and Callum. They are two extremely talented drivers and have very exciting seasons ahead of them in FIA Formula 3 and FIA Formula 2 respectively. I look forward to seeing them succeed even further with the continued support of Motorsport UK. Dan and Jonathan are great additions to the programme and both well-deserved placements. They’ve shown huge potential to date, Dan a very promising up and coming GT driver, and Jonathan, a British F3 front-runner and winner of the 2019 Aston Martin Autosport BRDC Award. I’m excited to see what we can achieve this year with the support of the Motorsport UK programme.”

Competitors Pathway Manager, Katie Baldwin added “I would like to congratulate all of the selected drivers; all of whom have shown hard work, skill and great commitment in order to gain (or retain) a place on the Team UK programme. I look forward to working with the group this season and hope that the 2020 programme provides beneficial support, guidance and training opportunities. I would also like to extend my congratulations to those graduating from the Team UK programme and wish them all the best in the future.”

Graduating drivers are; Jake Dennis, Dan Rooke, Seb Morris & Jack Aitken