Motorsport UK awards Lewis Hamilton the prestigious Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

Thursday 06 August 2020

British driver Lewis Hamilton has received the prestigious Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for the tenth time, adding to his record-breaking seventh British Grand Prix win last weekend.

The Hawthorn Memorial Trophy is awarded annually by Motorsport UK to the most successful British or Commonwealth driver in the FIA Formula One World Championship. It was first presented by the Hawthorn family in memory of Mike Hawthorn, who became Britain’s first Formula One World Champion in 1958 but tragically died in a road accident a year later.

19 different drivers have won the honour during the past 61 years, and on 24 of those occasions the recipient was also World Champion in the same year.  Lewis Hamilton is firmly inscribed on the roll of honour alongside other Commonwealth greats including, Sir Stirling Moss, Jack Brabham, Jim Clark, Sir Jackie Stewart, Alan Jones, Damon Hill, Nigel Mansell, Jacques Villeneuve and Jenson Button. After Hamilton, Mansell is the next most successful recipient with seven wins.

This latest win recognises Hamilton’s stellar 2019 season, in which he won 11 races, 17 podiums and five pole positions on his way to his sixth Formula One World Drivers’ Championship title. Lewis’ success also helped guide his team Mercedes AMG Petronas F1 to a sixth-straight constructors’ title, further showcasing their dominance during the Hybrid F1 era.

The hallmarked gilt and silver trophy, designed by Goldsmiths’ freeman K. Lesson, features a Union Jack and chequered flags and is mounted on a wooden pedestal.

Hugh Chambers, Motorsport UK, CEO said, “It is a great pleasure for Motorsport UK to present this award to Lewis on this record tenth occasion. Not only has he been one of the most dominant, consistent and successful drivers in recent years, he is also a fantastic ambassador not only for our sport, but our country.  His achievements are the best possible example to future generations of young drivers looking to follow in his footsteps. I would like to congratulate Lewis on his seventh British Grand Prix win, and wish him well for the upcoming Formula One 70th Anniversary Grand Prix at Silverstone this weekend.”

The Formula One 70th Anniversary Grand Prix (7-9 August) is round five of the 2020 Formula One season, and is a fitting tribute to the birthplace of the sport in 1950.

Previous Winners of the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy

1959Jack Brabham (AUS) *1990Nigel Mansell (GB)
1960Jack Brabham (AUS) *1991Nigel Mansell (GB)
1961Stirling Moss (GB)1992Nigel Mansell (GB) *
1962Graham Hill (GB) *1993Damon Hill (GB)
1963Jim Clark (GB) *1994Damon Hill (GB)
1964John Surtees (GB) *1995Damon Hill (GB)
1965Jim Clark (GB) *1996Damon Hill (GB) *
1966Jack Brabham (AUS) *1997Jacques Villeneuve (CAN) *
1967Denny Hulme (NZ) *1998David Coulthard (GB)
1968Graham Hill (GB) *1999Eddie Irvine (GB)
1969Jackie Stewart (GB) *2000David Coulthard (GB)
1970Denny Hulme (NZ)2001David Coulthard (GB)
1971Jackie Stewart (GB) *2002David Coulthard (GB)
1972Jackie Stewart (GB)2003David Coulthard (GB)
1973Jackie Stewart (GB) *2004Jenson Button (GB)
1974Denny Hulme (NZ)2005Jenson Button (GB)
1975James Hunt (GB)2006Jenson Button (GB)
1976James Hunt (GB) *2007Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1977James Hunt (GB)2008Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1978John Watson (GB)2009Jenson Button (GB)*
1979Alan Jones (AUS)2010Mark Webber (AUS)
1980Alan Jones (AUS) *2011Jenson Button (GB)
1981Alan Jones (AUS)2012Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1982John Watson (GB)2013Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1983John Watson (GB)2014Lewis Hamilton (GB)
1984Derek Warwick (GB)2015Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1985Nigel Mansell (GB)2016Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1986Nigel Mansell (GB)2017Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1987Nigel Mansell (GB)2018Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1988Derek Warwick (GB)2019Lewis Hamilton (GB)*
1989Nigel Mansell (GB)
*  denotes World Champion