Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship concluded early

Thursday 18 November 2021

The Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy has been concluded early after the cancellation of the final event at Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps.

After the Belgian venue confirmed to championship organisers that, in the light of their work schedule, severe flooding in the region and the current COVID-19 situation, they would be unable to stage the event on 5-7 December, alternative options were explored but no economically viable solution came to light.

As a result, the event held at Lydden Hill earlier this month (6-7 November) marked the conclusion of the 2021 season.

In the Supernational category, Jason Bleasdale (Vauxhall VX220) has won the class after winning four of the seven rounds. Slawomir Woloch (BMW M3 RX) finished second with Paige Bellerby (Vauxhall VX220) winner of three rounds) in third.

After losing out to Owen Robbins in round one, Max Langmaid never looked back, claiming the remaining six wins this season and the Junior title. Will Ovenden finished second with Robbins in third.

Going into the final round of SwiftSport, Max Weatherley and Luke Constantine had clinched three wins each. Constantine’s big accident at Knockhill ruled him out of round six and the points gap was too big to close however, with Weatherley taking his fourth victory and the title at Lydden Hill.

Darren Scott (Citroen C2) and Phil Chicken (Citroen C2) both suffered mechanical issues at Knockhill where new Super 1600 champion Craig Lomax (Citroen C1) managed to bag maximum points and the fourth of his four wins. Scott finished second having won two rounds with Nick Snoeys (Ford KA) claiming one win. Chicken finished third in the standings.
Stephen Brown has won the BMW Mini Rallycross title, his double-win at Pembrey contributing to his tally. Dave Ellis tied with Brown on points after a strong, consistent season. Ben Sayer finished in third with Dave Bellerby, winner of four rounds in fourth. Tom Constantine, winner of the penultimate round at Knockhill finished sixth.

Marty Hawkes is the inaugural All4 Mini champion. David Bell won four rounds with Adrian Turner taking the fifth, but Hawkes’ consistent points scoring handed him the title.

Simon Hart (Ford Escort MkI) is the Retro Rallycross champion after consistent points scoring and claiming both Knockhill wins. Round four winner, Tony Lynch (Toyota MR2) finished second. 2020 champ Steve Cozens (Citroen AX) won the final round and claimed third while Terry Moore (Austin Mini), winner of the first two rounds at Lydden Hill in May finished fourth.

Super Retro had the most winners with Barry Stewart (Porsche 911), John Cross (Lancia Stratos), Ray Morgan (Ford Escort), Vince Bristow (BMW E36) and Jos Sterkens (Ford Escort) sharing the seven wins between them. Stewart emerged as champion followed in the standings by Bristow and Morgan.

Andy Grant won Group B & 4WD in his ex-Will Gollop Ford Focus, winning all three rounds in the category. Bradley Sampson (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo) claimed second with Joe Booth (Subaru Impreza) in third.

Patrick O’Donovan’s four wins were fundamental to his 2021 RX150 title. 2020 champion Steve Jones was close behind in second with rookie Billy Alexander taking third in his first year.

Dan Welch claimed the title in the first ever all-electric rallycross championship in the UK. Welch won round one while Dave Halford claimed victory in the second round. Rob Gibson is second in the standings with Charlie Fraser in third.

The Supercars points remain provisional subject to an ongoing enquiry by Motorsport UK.

“It is disappointing that once again factors out of our control have ended our season,” said Hannah Rynston, 5 Nations BRX Coordinator. “It would have been great to have gone out with a bang knowing that we were holding our final races of the year but we still had avenues open that could have given us another round of competition. Unfortunately, we were unable to make those options work.

“Congratulations to our champions and thank you to all our competitors. We appreciate all the efforts and understanding in what has still been unconventional circumstances. We hope that 2022 will be more conventional and run according to plan.”

Full standings can be found on the Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship website.