Click here to see the regulations out for consultation

Recognising outstanding achievement in motorsport

The Sport


Motorsport UK recognises outstanding achievement in motorsport and endeavours to honour the best of British with a range of awards and events.

Motorsport UK Club, Volunteer, Organising Team, and Sustainable Club of the Year Award 

Motorsport UK celebrates and recognises the efforts by clubs, organising teams and volunteers who deserve particular praise for going that extra mile and keeping motorsport going every year. 

The Club of the Year has been awarded for 30 years and recognises collaborative work, sharing best practice, opening motorsport to the local community, developing volunteers through training opportunities, and going above and beyond in all areas. 

For 20 years, the Volunteer of the Year award similarly rewards the hard work of the unpaid enthusiasts helping to keep events running, and recognises those with leadership skills and a proven ability to overcome challenges. 

2020 saw the introduction of the Organising Team of the Year award which is judged on an ability to work together and engaging the local community whilst holding a successful event for all participants and attendees. 

The Sustainable Club of the Year award is a new award for 2022 which highlights clubs that have taken a proactive and impactful approach to environmental sustainability over the year, showcasing action, education and behaviour change for members.  

Read about the 2021 winners here and download nomination forms below.

Motorsport UK Environmental Sustainability Award

The Motorsport UK Environmental Award was created to recognise a truly exceptional or outstanding achievement or contribution towards environmental responsibility and the active promotion of sustainability within motorsport activities, events and communications.


2022: Silverstone Circuit

2021: Extreme E

2018: Rally4Wales

2016: Anglesey Circuit

2015: Greenpower

2013: Williams Advanced Engineering

2012: Drayson Racing


Motorsport UK Long Service Recognition

Long service Recognition Certificates are issued by Motorsport UK once a year and are selected based on nominations by a club, region or an event. To nominate a volunteer, who has supported the motorsport community for over 40 years, please complete the below nomination form to be reviewed by the panel.

Motorsport UK Long Service Recognition Nomination Form

Motorsport UK Lifetime Achievement Award

The Motorsport UK Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest honour bestowed by the Motorsport UK Board. It is presented annually to a member of the UK motorsport community in recognition of outstanding achievement over many years in the sport.

The award is not limited to competitors or volunteers, with the 2022 winner being motorsport PR and communications legend Ann Bradshaw.


2022: Ann Bradshaw
2021: Jackie Stewart, Jimmy McRae and Jonathan Lord
2018: Murray Walker and Frank Williams
2017: David Butler MBE
2016: No award
2015: David Morley
2014: Len Pullen
2013: Andy Watson
2012: Ron Smith
2011: Denis Cardell and Tony Fletcher
2010: No award
2009: Howard Strawford
2008: Howard Lapsley and Les Needham
2007: Peter Cooper
2006: No award
2005: Tom Delaney

Officiel d’Honneur

Long-serving Motorsport UK officials who have completed their active service to motorsport may be invited to become an Officiel d’Honneur in recognition of their commitment to the sport.

Upon acceptance, this appointment will entitle them to various privileges, and their advice may be called upon to make optimum use of their wealth of experience across the various disciplines of motorsport.

The following people have accepted the position of Officiel d’Honneur for 2022:

  • Michael Allison
  • George Bailey
  • W Beattie
  • Iain Bennie
  • Ken Blackburn
  • Gerald Blythe
  • Howard Chapell
  • Timothy Hassall
  • Allan Dean-Lewis MBE
  • Ronald McCabe
  • Norman Manser
  • John Wood
  • B Wright
  • Peter Liddle

The Prince Michael Award of Merit

The Prince Michael Award of Merit is the highest personal award made by the Motor Sports Council. The award is given to a maximum of two recipients per year in recognition of meritorious service to UK motorsport.


2022: Dennis Carter
2021: Dr Ian Roberts
2018: Tony Scott Andrews
2015: Les Needham
2013: Colin Hilton; Ronnie Trouton MBE
2011: Michael Southcombe
2009: David Butler MBE
2008: Stuart Turner
2007: Colin Rossborough
2004: Ken Walker
2002: Tony Reynolds
2000: Robert Rae
1998: Michael Fenwick; Keith Douglas
1997: Alec Rivers Fletcher; Donald Grieve
1996: Tom Dooley; Dick Newsum
1995: Brian Molyneux
1994: John Felix; George Hall
1993: Peter Cooper; Tony Fletcher
1992: Tony Bird
1991: Jack Romain


1997: Professor Sid Watkins

Motorsport UK Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year

Established in 2002, the awards are designed to encourage the new generation of reporters and photographers working within UK motorsport. An expert panel will consider the applications, and each winner will receive a cheque for £1000 and a trophy at the Motorsport UK Night of Champions ceremony.

Previous Winners

Journalist: Alex Kalinauckas, Autosport
Photographer: Jack Clayden, freelance

Journalist: Matt Kew, Autosport
Photographer: Lou Johnson, Spacesuit Media

Journalist: James Newbold, Autosport
Photographer: Michael Holden, freelance

Journalist: Stephen Lickorish, Motorsport News
Photographer: Matt Sayle, freelance

Journalist: Jack Benyon, Autosport
Photographer: Dan Bathie, freelance

Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport
Photographer: Jayson Fong, freelance

Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport
Photographer: Adam Pigott, freelance

Journalist: Alex Harmer, Motor Sport
Photographer: Tom Loomes, freelance

Journalist: Jason Craig, Coleraine Chronicle
Photographer: Nick Dungan, freelance

Journalist: Dan McCalla, Motorsport News
Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance

Journalist: Rob Ladbrook, Motorsport News
Photographer: William Neill, freelance

Journalist: Ben Anderson, Autosport
Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance

Journalist: Ed Foster, Motor Sport
Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT

Journalist: Steven English, Autosport
Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT

Journalist: Kevin Turner, Autosport
Photographer: Michael Hoyer, freelance

Journalist: Glenn Freeman, Motorsport News
Photographer: Gavin Ireland, Racecar Engineering

Journalist: Gemma Briggs, Racecar/Haymarket
Photographer: Glenn Dunbar, LAT

Journalist: Tim Redmayne, Motorsport News
Photographer: Jonathan MacDonald, Pacenotes

Journalist: Will Gray, Collings Sport
Photographer: Jakob Ebrey, Jakob Ebrey Photographic

Night of Champions

The Night of Champions is Motorsport UK’s annual prize-giving ceremony, where the latest British Championship title winners are crowned. This prestigious event is held at the Royal Automobile Club in London each January.

As well as the British Championship trophies, a series of special awards is also presented to recognise excellence across the sport:

  • Motorsport UK Club of the Year
  • Motorsport UK Organising Team of the Year
  • Motorsport UK Volunteer of the Year
  • Motorsport UK Young Journalist of the Year
  • Motorsport UK Young Photographer of the Year
  • Motorsport UK Young Driver of the Year
  • BWRDC Lord Wakefield Trophy (for women in motorsport)
  • Motorsport UK Environmental Award
  • Sir Malcolm Campbell Memorial Trophy (for excellence by a British individual or group)
  • Hawthorn Memorial Trophy (for the highest placed British or Commonwealth driver in the previous year’s F1 championship)