2022 Motorsport UK Board appointments

Wednesday 07 December 2022

Motorsport UK is pleased to announce the appointment of Katrina-May Kwan and Nick Pontefract to the Board as Independent Non-Executive Directors.

Nick Pontefract joined Sport England in 2018 as Chief Strategy Officer where he has led the development and delivery of their new strategy to tackle inequalities in grassroots sports participation. He is a former Senior Civil Servant at the Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, where he worked from 2005, including leading the bid for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games. He was also a Board member of Yorkshire 2019 Ltd, the organising committee for the 2019 UCI Road World Championships.

“I’m delighted to be joining the Motorsport UK Board at a really exciting time,” commented Nick Pontefract. “As a big motorsport fan, I can’t wait to bring my professional expertise to bear in helping deliver a really positive and forward thinking strategy in a sector I really care about.”

Katrina-May Kwan has a demonstrated history of working in financial services and professionally executing Equality, Diversity and Inclusion strategies within the industry.

Leading Head of Risk Strategy, Planning & Governance at Wells Fargo Bank, Katrina holds the role of Co-Chair of EMEA Diversity and Inclusion Council at the organisation, developing opportunities and broadening representation in the workplace. Chair of Cumberland Netball Club, London’s largest club, Kwan also acts as Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Officer at England Netball – London and South East Regional Management Board.

“I am honoured to be joining the Board and can’t wait to immerse myself in the fantastic world of motorsport,” said Katrina-May Kwan. “I look forward to working with everyone at Motorsport UK and its members, volunteers and clubs to deliver continued success and inclusion in the sport over the years to come.”

Alongside the new appointments, Catherine Bond Muir, Chris Cooper and Roger Wills have been reappointed to the Board as Independent Non-Executive Directors.

Helen Bashford-Malkie has stepped down from her post as Board member and Chair of the Women in Motorsport Sub-committee. Motorsport UK sends its thanks and gratitude to Bashford-Malkie for her contribution to the organisation.

Following October’s Motorsport UK Council meeting, David Lapworth (Technical Committee Chair and Sustainability Committee Chair), Richard Norbury (Judicial Committee Chair), and Nicky Moffitt (Rally Committee Chair and Safety Committee member) have been re-elected to the Board by the Council.

David Richards CBE, Chair of Motorsport UK, commented, “On behalf of Motorsport UK, we are delighted to welcome Nick and Katrina-May, two highly experienced individuals, to the Board.

“Both Nick and Katrina-May have different vantage points across governance, business and sport that will prove to be a major benefit to Motorsport UK. As we seek to enhance the position of motorsport within government, ensuring the long-term sustainable future of the sport, both Nick and Katrina-May will play a pivotal role in supporting and guiding the organisation on the opportunities ahead.

“We’re delighted to welcome back the reappointed Independent Non-Executive Directors as well as our members voted to the Board by our Council. We look forward to continuing our close working relationship with all of them.

“I must also express my thanks to Helen Bashford-Malkie, who has decided to step down due to personal reasons, and has made an extraordinary contribution to the Motorsport UK Board.”

The full Motorsport UK Board:

  • David Richards CBE – Chair
  • Tom Purves – Council Chair
  • Hugh Chambers – CEO
  • Catherine Bond Muir
  • Karun Chandhok
  • Chris Cooper
  • David Lapworth
  • Katrina-May Kwan
  • Nicky Moffitt
  • Richard Norbury
  • Nick Pontefract
  • Roger Wills