Regulations

The Sport

Regulations

Motorsport UK regulations are designed to ensure safety and fair play across four-wheel UK motorsport. These regulations are detailed in the Motorsport UK Yearbook, commonly known as the Blue Book.

All regulations proposed by the Specialist Committees come before the Rules Committee for debate and ratification. However before they reach the Committee, regulations are usually subject to a consultation process that gives the motorsport community an opportunity to provide feedback.

Regulation changes can be implemented without consultation in matters of urgent safety or for clarification purposes, or following recommendations from the Rules Committee to The Board.

Action sheets detailing proposed regulation changes are posted here and can be found via the links on the right. These action sheets contain both contact details and closing dates for submitting comments.

Consultation is taken into account by the Specialist Committees and regulation changes are often revised post-consultation before being presented to the Motorsport UK Board.

To provide advance warning for competitors and officials, new rules approved by The Board for future implementation are published here.

2022 Motorsport UK Council and Committee Dates

Motorsport UK Board

  • Saturday 22 January
  • Tuesday 12 April
  • Tuesday 14 June
  • Tuesday 13 September
  • Tuesday 22 November

Motor Sports Council

  • Tuesday 15 March
  • Tuesday 28 June
  • Tuesday 11 October

Autotest Committee

  • Tuesday 15 February
  • Tuesday 5 July

Cross Country Committee

  • Tuesday 1 March
  • Tuesday 21 June

Historic Committee

  • Wednesday 23 March
  • Wednesday 6 July
  • Tuesday 15 November

Judicial Committee

  • Tuesday 8 March
  • Tuesday 19 July

Kart Committee

  • Thursday 17 March
  • Thursday 7 July
  • Thursday 17 November

Medical Committee

  • Thursday 23 June

Race Committee

  • Thursday 3 March
  • Wednesday 15 June
  • Thursday 3 November

Rallies Committee

  • Tuesday 29 March
  • Tuesday 12 July
  • Tuesday 1 November

Regional Committee

  • Tuesday 22 February
  • Tuesday 31 May
  • Tuesday 25 October

Rules Committee

  • Tuesday 10 May
  • Tuesday 6 September

Rescue & Recovery Advisory Group

  • Thursday 7 April

Safety Committee

  • Wednesday 13 April
  • Wednesday 10 August
  • Tuesday 8 November

Speed Events Committee

  • Wednesday 6 April
  • Wednesday 27 July

Autocross & Rallycross Sub Committee

  • To be advised

Dragster Sub Committee

  • To be advised

Sprint & Hill Climb Sub Committee

  • To be advised

Technical Committee

  • Wednesday 30 March
  • Wednesday 3 August

Timekeeping Advisory Group

  • Wednesday 29 June

Trials Committee

  • Tuesday 22 March
  • Tuesday 2 August

Volunteer Official’s Committee

  • Thursday 24 March
  • Thursday 4 August

Clerk’s & Steward’s Advisory Group

  • To be advised

Marshal’s Advisory Group

  • To be advised

Training Advisory Group

  • To be advised