Entries open for MSA Young Journalist & Photographer awards


Entries are open for the 2018 MSA Young Journalist and Photographer of the Year awards, recognising most promising young members of the motorsport media aged 30 and under.

Established in 2002, the awards are designed to celebrate the UK’s new generation of reporters and photographers working in motorsport. An expert panel will consider the applications, and each winner will receive a trophy and a cheque for £1,000 at the MSA’s prestigious Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in January.

Additionally, the two winners and any highly commended entrants will receive a year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers, the world’s largest organisation of automotive editorial professionals.

Stephen Lickorish, deputy editor of Motorsport News and winner of last year’s journalism award, said: "It was a massive honour to win in 2017. When you look at the list of the previous winners and what they’ve gone on to achieve, it's quite inspiring to be following in their footsteps. Since winning the award I’ve been very fortunate to have been promoted at work but I am still learning all the time and the award win still helps to motivate me to keep improving as a journalist."

Matt Sayle, who won the photography accolade, added: “Winning the MSA award was the best moment of my career so far. To see my name on the trophy alongside some of the best motorsport photographers in the world is incredible and something I am extremely proud of. It has opened many doors for me and 2018 has been mega busy as a result. I was fortunate enough to be invited to Le Mans with Aston Martin and Prodrive as a result of winning this prestigious award, which was just simply an incredible experience. I can't thank the MSA enough for the award and the boost this has given me.”

Candidates must have been aged 30 or under on 1 January 2018. They must be able to demonstrate published work involving UK motorsport and are required to submit a minimum of three published articles or five photographs from 2018. Outlets can be specialist or general, national or regional, and online or offline.

The application form is available here and entries must be received by the MSA no later than 12.00 on 5 November 2018.

Previous winners:

Journalist: Stephen Lickorish, Motorsport News
Photographer: Matt Sayle, freelance

Journalist: Jack Benyon, Autosport
Photographer: Dan Bathie, freelance

Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport
Photographer: Jayson Fong, freelance

Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport
Photographer: Adam Pigott, freelance

Journalist: Alex Harmer, Motor Sport
Photographer: Tom Loomes, freelance

Journalist: Jason Craig, Coleraine Chronicle
Photographer: Nick Dungan, freelance

Journalist: Dan McCalla, Motorsport News
Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance

Journalist: Rob Ladbrook, Motorsport News
Photographer: William Neill, freelance

Journalist: Ben Anderson, Autosport
Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance

Journalist: Ed Foster, Motor Sport
Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT

Journalist: Steven English, Autosport
Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT

Journalist: Kevin Turner, Autosport
Photographer: Michael Hoyer, freelance

Journalist: Glenn Freeman, Motorsport News
Photographer: Gavin Ireland, Racecar Engineering

Journalist: Gemma Briggs, Racecar/Haymarket
Photographer: Glenn Dunbar, LAT

Journalist: Tim Redmayne, Motorsport News
Photographer: Jonathan MacDonald, Pacenotes

Journalist: Will Gray, Collings Sport
Photographer: Jakob Ebrey, Jakob Ebrey Photographic

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year. Read more

Seven-time Grand Prix winner Daniel Ricciardo visited round four of his kart race series at Whilton Mill last weekend and took the opportunity to announce with Motorsport UK CEO, Hugh Chambers, that for 2020 the series will partner with the sport’s g... Read more

Today Silverstone Circuits, the British Racing Drivers Club (BRDC) and Formula 1 announced that the British Grand Prix will remain at the venue until 2024. Read more

Motorsport UK and BARC (TOCA) Limited today announced that an extension has been signed between the two parties, contracting TOCA to continue to operate and promote the British Touring Car Championship (BTCC) until the end of 2026. Read more

Sébastien Ogier may have won 44 times in his stellar FIA World Rally Championship career, but few of his victories have been more hard-fought than the one he achieved at Dayinsure Wales Rally GB this weekend (4-7 October), as the Ford star overcame a... Read more

The scene is set for an epic finish to the 2018 edition of Dayinsure Wales Rally GB tomorrow, after the momentum in this year’s FIA World Rally Championship title fight swung dramatically back and forth in front of thousands of enthralled fans in the... Read more

The world’s leading rally drivers treated fans to an awe-inspiring display of high-speed thrills and spectacular sideways slides through the legendary north Wales forests today, as spectators celebrated the coronation of a homegrown British champion ... Read more

The UK’s round of the FIA World Rally Chamoionship revved into life in spectacular fashion at Tir Prince Raceway, as the world’s fastest rally drivers wowed enthusiastic crowds with a high-speed blast around the curtain-raiser to Dayinsure Wales Rall... Read more