Hamilton receives Hawthorn Trophy

Sunday 14 July 2019

Lewis Hamilton has received the Hawthorn Memorial Trophy for an eighth time after ranking as the top Commonwealth driver in F1 last year.

Hugh Chambers, Motorsport UK Chief Executive, presented the trophy at Silverstone, where Hamilton qualified second on the grid for the 2019 British Grand Prix. While Hamilton is Britain’s latest F1 champion, Mike Hawthorn was the first, winning the title in 1958. Hawthorn tragically died a year later and the Memorial Trophy has been presented every year since to the highest place British or Commonwealth grand prix driver.

Hamilton’s 2018 season yielded 11 race victories en route to his fifth F1 title – sealed with two races to spare.

His efforts also helped the UK-based Mercedes AMG Petronas team to earn its fifth consecutive title and extend its dominance of the V6 turbo hybrid era.