2021 Motorsport UK Young Media Awards

Thursday 30 September 2021

Entries are still open for the 2021 Motorsport UK Young Journalist and Young Photographer of the Year awards.

The annual young media awards launched in 2002 to encourage and inspire upcoming journalists and photographers working in motorsport throughout the UK. Some of the most recognisable reporters and snappers within the sport have been crowned winners of the Motorsport UK accolade, including Ben Anderson and Lou Johnson, who is the only female Photographer of the Year winner to date.

Entrants must be aged 30 or under on 1 January 2021 and demonstrate published content involving UK motorsport. Applications and requirements for each entry are available to download here and must be received by the Motorsport UK Communications Team on or before Monday 6 December 2021.

2020 Young Journalist Alex Kalinauckas said: “I am delighted to win this award and still finding it hard to believe it’s happened! I’m incredibly grateful and thankful to the judges for their decision, and I’m pleased to have had my work recognised in what was a particularly challenging year for so many people working in motorsport – it was an honour to play a part in telling their stories. Finally, I’d like to say what a privilege it is to join the list of winners of this award – it’s packed full of names I respect and admire – and say thank you to Motorsport UK for promoting journalism’s place within the sport.”

Jack Clayden – 2020 Young Photographer said: “It’s a great honour to become the Motorsport UK Young Photographer of the year and join an illustrious list of past winners. 2020 has been tough for everyone working in motorsport, especially young people trying to make a career in the sport. It has been hard to gain the opportunities to work on events, but I try and grab any opportunity to showcase my work. To be chosen as the winner is massive, and I would like to thank the judges for selecting me and for Motorsport UK for the opportunities this prize will create.”

An expert panel will consider applications, with each winner receiving a trophy and a cheque for £1,000 at Motorsport UK’s prestigious Night of Champions ceremony. Winners will also receive one year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW), the world’s largest association of automotive editorial professionals.

[Image: Jack Clayden]