22 British delegates appointed to 26 FIA Commissions

Monday 14 February 2022

Following a meeting of the FIA’s World Motor Sport Council earlier this month, 22 British delegates have been appointed across 26 FIA Commissions for 2022 and 2023.

Motorsport UK has had a proud presence within the world governing body’s Commission structure with returning delegates and newly appointed members.

Alan Gow has been reappointed President of the FIA Touring Car Commission and will continue as an FIA representative on the World Endurance Commission. Motorsport UK’s Disability & Accessibility Sub Committee Chair, Nathalie McGloin will serve as President of the FIA Disability & Accessibility Commission.

David Grace and John Ryan will take up Vice-Presidential roles within the FIA Hill Climb Commission and FIA International Karting Commission, respectively. Ryan will take on further roles within the Homologation Regulations Commission and Single-Seater Commission.

Motorsport UK Board Members, Helen Bashford-Malkie and David Lapworth will both sit on FIA Commissions. Bashford-Malkie will feature on the Women in Motorsport Commission with Lapworth taking a position on the Cross-Country Rally Commission. Hugh Chambers, Motorsport UK CEO, will sit on the Esports Commission.

On the appointments, Chambers commented: “Motorsport UK is proud to feature prominently on the expert FIA Commissions, providing leadership and guidance on the future of motorsport. Our appointed delegates are experts within their field and they are all delighted to be able to make a contribution to the future of motorsport in the UK and overseas.”

A full list of Commission members can be found below.

NameFIA CommissionResponsibility
Nathalie McGloinDisability & AccessibilityPresident
Mike BroadRallyDelegate
Dan CarterClosed RoadDelegate
Dan CarterCircuitsDelegate
Hugh ChambersEsportsDelegate
David ClarkHistoric Motor SportDelegate
Philip EvansDrag RacingDelegate
Alan GowTouring CarPresident
Alan GowEndurance CommissionFIA Representative
David GraceHill ClimbVice-President
Joe HickertonElectric & New Energy ChampionshipsDelegate
Andrew HowardDrivers’From other disciplines
David LapworthCross-Country RallyDelegate
Cheryl LynchOff-RoadDelegate
Cheryl LynchDriftingDelegate
Cristiana PaceEnvironmental & SustainabilityDelegate
John RyanHomologation RegulationsDelegate
John RyanSingle-SeaterDelegate
John RyanInternational Karting (CIK)Vice-President
Sue SandersVolunteer & OfficialsDelegate
Dr Paul TraffordMedicalDelegate
David TremayneLand Speed RecordsDelegate
Michael DuncanTruck RacingDelegate
John GawGTDelegate
Helen Bashford-MalkieWomen in MotorsportDelegate
Dan ParkerCIK-International Karting CommissionDelegate
Scott MartinClosed RoadDrivers’ representative