Motorsport UK Academy unveils 2022 driver and co-driver talent selection

Wednesday 23 February 2022

Motorsport UK is pleased to announce the 2022 programme selections for its Academy, the governing body’s talent development pathway that equips the UK’s most promising young drivers and co-drivers with the knowledge, skills and attitude needed to maximise their performance.

This year, the recently re-developed Team UK Futures programme expands to its planned two-year structure, with the initial intake of rising stars bolstered by 27 newcomers from across all disciplines of the sport. Enhanced DiSE graduates Abbi Pulling, Casper Stevenson, Gordie Mutch and Josh Steed all progress into the second year of the programme.

Team UK continues to showcase the very best of British talent competing at home and overseas, and features five newcomers for 2022, including World Endurance Championship racer Seb Priaulx, fellow sportscar racer Ben Green, WRC3 Junior Jon Armstrong, FIA Formula 3 and Ferrari junior Oliver Bearman and Louis Foster, who embarks on his first campaign state-side in the Indy Pro 2000 Championship this season.

They will join the likes of W Series champion Jamie Chadwick, FIA Formula 2 racer Olli Caldwell, Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup ace Harry King and many more in leading the way for another generation of British talent scaling the ladder.

Cameron Fair and Jack Bowen will be joined by six new faces on the Co-Drivers programme, with Callum Young, Dafydd Evans, Daniel James, James Hedges, Jamie Vaughan and Kirstie Mochrie all new recruits to the scheme.

Participants at each step of the pathway were unveiled at the Academy’s annual launch event, held at Motorsport UK’s Bicester headquarters in the heart of “Motorsport Valley” earlier today (23 February), including an introductory welcome by Karun Chandhok, Sky Sports F1 presenter and the Academy’s expert line-up of coaching talent.

Hugh Chambers, Motorsport UK Chief Executive Officer said: “Identifying and helping to drive forward the next generation of British talent across all disciplines of the sport is very much a key priority for Motorsport UK, and I’m pleased to welcome the latest intake of talented drivers and co-drivers to this year’s Academy programmes.

“Over it’s lifespan, the Motorsport UK Academy has been a springboard for many of Britain’s outstanding talent in the sport; Lando Norris and George Russell, now two of Formula 1’s real stars, both developed into the drivers they are today with the programme’s support. Congratulations to all our drivers on their selection, and we look forward to following their progress into 2022.”

Katie Baldwin, Competitors Pathway Manager at Motorsport UK added “After having to cancel our plans for an in-person launch event in 2021, and two challenging years for everyone, it’s fantastic to have everybody together today at Bicester Heritage to kick off what will certainly be another superb year for the Motorsport UK Academy.

“We would like to wish all our competitors and coaches a successful and safe 2022 and look forward to another busy year of success stories from the best of Britain’s rising stars in the sport.”

The 2022 selections are as follows:

Team UK:
Ben Green
Dan Harper
Harry King
Jamie Chadwick
Johnathan Hoggard
Jon Armstrong
Jonny Edgar
Keaton Williams (Co-Driver)
Louis Foster
Oliver Bearman
Olli Caldwell
Phil Hall (Co-Driver)
Sandy Mitchell
Seb Priaulx
Tom Gamble
Tom Williams
Will Tregurtha

Team UK Futures (Year 1):
John Bennett
Dominic Bush
Alistair Cresswell
McKenzy Cresswell
Oliver Gray
Lorcan Hanafin
Charlie Hand
Finlay Harrison
Leon Henderson
Jem Hepworth
Max Langmaid
Christian Mansell
Liam McNeilly
Aiden Neate
Sam Pattison
Elliot Payne
Matthew Rees
Harri Reynolds
Declan Russell
Lewis Saunders
Jack Sherwood
Nicole Sutherland
Alex Walker

Team UK Futures (Year 2):
Alex Connor
Toby Goodman
Logan Hannah
Louis Harvey
James Hedley
Rory Hudson
Will Hunt
Emily Linscott
Tom Llewellin
Josh Malin
Gordie Mutch
Abbi Pulling
Adam Smalley
Josh Steed
Casper Stevenson
Archie Swinscoe
Bailey Voisin
Lydia Walmsley

Callum Young
Cameron Fair
Dafydd Evans
Daniel James
Jack Bowen
James Hedges
Jamie Vaughan
Kirsty Mochrie