Motorsport UK Club and Volunteer Awards are open for 2023 nominations

Tuesday 05 September 2023

Motorsport UK is pleased to announce that nominations for its annual Club and Volunteer awards are now open.

The annual awards are an opportunity for the UK’s governing body and membership organisation to recognise and celebrate the efforts of clubs, volunteers and organisations for their outstanding contribution to our vibrant motorsport community.

The Club of the Year award celebrates collaborative work with other clubs, shared best practices, opening motorsport to the local community and members, developing volunteers through training opportunities and generally going above and beyond in all areas.

Anglia Motor Club took the honours last year, having displayed exceptional commitment to growing the grassroots motorsport scene in East Anglia with a strong focus on uniting and promoting positive collaboration between the 12 principal motor clubs in the region.

They were also at the forefront of a push for greater inclusivity and accessibility, with the introduction of their ‘Better Together’ initiative, and were pioneers of new channels and content on their social media platforms.

Introduced in 2022, the Sustainable Club of the Year award runs in line with Motorsport UK’s broader commitment to a sustainable future for the sport.

This award seeks to highlight the clubs that have taken a proactive and impactful approach to environmental sustainability over the year. Clubs will have showcased the actions they have taken, efforts to educate their members and subsequent behaviour changes.

The Vintage Sports-Car Club was the ideal inaugural recipient of the award as it took significant strides forward in its strategy to be more environmentally sustainable, as well as placing transparency at the heart of their sustainability operations. They were also praised for the creation of their very own carbon calculator and their willingness to share their learnings in order to support the wider community on their own respective sustainability journeys.

The Organising Team of the Year award is judged on an ability to work together and engage the local community while holding a successful event for all participants and attendees.

The 2022 winner was Northern Ireland’s Larne Motor Club with their Autotest The Junction event. As an organising club of the Northern Ireland Autotest Championship, they opted to move their round of the series in 2022 to a more public-facing venue in a nearby retail complex’s car park, with the ambition of raising the profile of both the club and Autotesting as a discipline.

Additionally, their use of social media garnered them increased sponsorship and exposure, and by embracing new technologies they were able to live stream some of the event and place QR codes around the spectator areas, linking to a digital programme and live event results.

The Volunteer of the Year award celebrates its 20th year in 2023 and reflects the hard work of those who dedicate their time and efforts to provide the foundation of the UK’s thriving motorsport scene.

Angela ‘Angie’ Jones, a longstanding member of the British motorsport community, had her contribution to the sport recognised last year. Angie has held a multitude of roles across a significant number of disciplines and for a variety of clubs but was nominated by the Vintage-Sports Car Club, with whom she has worked with most recently.

The Club of the Year and Organising Team of the Year winners and runners-up will all receive a prestigious Motorsport UK trophy, with the winners also collecting a cheque for £1,000 and the runners-up a £500 cheque. The Volunteer of the Year award winner and runner-up will both be awarded a Motorsport UK trophy and a cheque for £500 and £250 respectively. The Sustainable Club of the Year winner will be awarded a trophy and a cheque for £1000.

Motorsport UK is also inviting nominations for recipients of Long Service Recognition Certificates. Clubs, regions, or events are asked to put forward suggestions of officials with more than 40 years of service. Nominations for all awards close on Tuesday 31st October and winners will be announced in December.

For more information and to put forward a nomination, please see our dedicated awards page HERE.