University of Sheffield crowned second British Formula Student winners

Tuesday 27 July 2021

Team Sheffield Formula Racing fended off fierce competition to be crowned the second British Formula Student winners at a special Silverstone event last week (22-25 July 2021).

In Formula Student history, Cardiff University were the only British winners back in 2017, but that all changed on Sunday 25 July 2021, when the lion’s share of the trophies in this year’s competition was awarded to Team Sheffield. The Yorkshire-based crew picked up silverware in the Endurance, Sprint, Design for second year vehicles and most efficient internal combustion vehicle challenges.

Unlike previous years, the 2021 competition rules were amended to enable vehicles from one and two years of development to compete as a result of workshop access difficulties.

Other notable winners included the University of Glasgow for their victory in Design for first year vehicle award, University of Nottingham for completing the endurance for the first time, winning the Formula Student Class Business Plan Presentation and being awarded runner-up for the best first year vehicle accolade. Finally, Staffordshire University won the best overall first year vehicle award and picked up the Spirit of Formula Student award in recognition of the team’s repair effort after a mid-Endurance collision.

The Formula Student competition sees teams design, build and run single-seater cars with events designed to test their vehicle and engineering knowledge in formal presentations. For more information on the 2021 competition, visit the Formula Student website.

[Image from Formula Student Flickr]