97 Entries for 2021 5 Nations BRX Opener at Lydden Hill

Friday 28 May 2021

Four champions head quality Supercar entry for the opening two rounds of the 2021 Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy Presented by Cooper Tires at Lydden Hill.

Reigning champion Mark Donnelly (Citroen DS3) returns to defend his crown but will face tough opposition from six-time champion Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta), 2007 British Champion Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta) and three-time IRX champion Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta).

Returning to BRX after a two year-absence is double vice-champion Andy Scott (Peugeot 208), who leads three generations in the British Championship with son Marc (RX150) and grandson Finley (making his Junior RX debut).

Triple Supernational Champion Tristan Ovenden returns in his stunning DS3 for a second season in Supercar, so too Mike Sellar in his similar car, alongside the experienced Welshman Roger Thomas (Ford Fiesta) and Steve Hill in his trusty Mitsubishi EVO.

Making their first outing in Supercar are reigning S1600 champion Roberts Vitols who pilots the LD Motorsport Citroen C4 – his prize for claiming the crown last year, and Irish rallyman Connor McCloskey. McCloskey will drive Ollie O’Donovan’s Ford Focus in round one but must return to Ireland for a family gathering on Sunday so will miss round two.

The Motorsport UK Junior Rallycross Championship has attracted a strong entry, including four making their class debut. Alongside Finley Scott, Will Ovenden, Max Langmaid and James Hawkes will take to the grid in 1300cc Suzuki Swifts, joining returnees Max Watt, Corey Padgett, Caitlin May and Owen Robbins.

Reigning Supernational Champion Paige Bellerby (Lotus Exige) heads a solid entry that includes Stuart Emery (Peugeot 206), Slawomir Woloch (BMW), Jason Bleasdale (Vauxhall VX220) and Fred Ling (Ford Fiesta). While returning to the 2-litre class is Lee Keeler (Vauxhall Astra VXR) and series newcomer Belgian Ludo Hermans (Volvo S40).

2019 champion Craig Lomax heads the Super1600 line-up, bringing a brand-new car into the class in the form of a Citroen C1. He is joined by the returning Darren Scott and Phil Chicken, who returns after a year in Swift Sport, both driving Citroen C2s. Completing the line-up is Belgian Nick Snoeys who brings his vibrant orange Ford Ka to the UK.

A massive entry of 18 BMW Minis will line up on the grid, plus three brand new All4 Super Minis for reigning BMWMiniRX champion David Bell, Martin Hawkes and Adrian Turner. The R53 class includes Dave Bellerby (standing in once again for 2019 champion Drew), Dave Ellis, Andrew Hawkes, Darren Bleasdale and Archie Thomas, alongside newcomers that include Swift Sport Champion Tom Constantine and Oliver Foord.

25 Retro Rallycross cars will take to the track across three classes: Retro 4WD, Retro and Super Retro. The ‘British Bomb’ Liam Doran will take the wheel of dad Pat’s Ford RS200 in the Retro 4WD class on Monday, where he joins 2019 champion Steve Harris (Ford RS200), and reigning champion Ian Flitney (Subaru Impreza). Vince Bristow (BMW E36) heads the Super Retro line-up with Belgian Jos Sterkens making a rare appearance in his MkI Ford Escort, joining Phil Collard (Renault 5), John Cross (Lancia Stratos) and Barry Stewart (Porsche 911). Retro champion Stephen Cozens returns to defend his crown in his Citroen AX.

Last year’s Junior runner-up Luke Constantine heads the nine-car Swift Sport entry, joining his cousin James who finished second last year. They will be joined by Bradley Durdin, switching from BMW Minis, and his dad Terry amongst others in the line-up.

The brand-new Electro Rallycross Championship makes its first appearance with an impressive entry that sees some familiar names returning to the grid. Daniel Welch (son of John) and Rob Gibson, Dave Halford and Charlie Fraser are among those competing in the all-electric Fiat 500e class.

Reigning RX150 champion Stephen Jones will face tough opposition from three-time champion Marc Scott, who returns after a lengthy absence. They’ll both have to fight off the advances of newcomer Patrick O’Donovan though who put on a dominant display in the final two rounds of 2020.

Latest News

Read More


Read the Latest Issue