Academy drivers lead the way in Young Driver of the Year Award

Thursday 05 September 2019

Formed in 2009, the Academy is the competitor development pathway of Motorsport UK and has aided the careers over 1200 young athletes across its five programmes: Team UK, Squad, AASE, Co-drivers and Performance Master Classes.

MRF Challenge and W Series Champion Jamie Chadwick is joined by fellow Team UK members Olli Caldwell and Kiern Jewiss. Whereas Ayrton Simmons and Josh Skelton are all members of the Academy Squad Programme.

17-year-old British F4 driver Luke Browning is a member of the Motorsport UK Academy AASE programme, based at Loughborough College.

The ten final candidates will be invited to an event later this year where the four finalists will be announced. The four finalists will then undergo two days of testing at Silverstone under the watchful eyes of the judges, including BRDC Chairman Derek Warwick, Aston Martin Racing’s Darren Turner and double British Touring Car Champion Jason Plato.

The winner of the prestigious young driver award will be announced at the Autosport Awards on 8 December.