Brits Line Up for Le Mans 24 Hours

Tuesday 15 September 2020

The 88th edition of the World’s greatest endurance race, the 24 Hours of Le Mans, takes place behind closed doors this weekend (19–20 September).

For only the second time in Le Mans history, the iconic 24 hour race will take place in September. The later date equals more night racing (approximately 12 hours in darkness) and higher speeds due to the cooler air temperature.

Britain’s Mike Conway currently leads the World Endurance Championship’s LMP1 Class alongside teammates Jose Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi. The Toyota Gazoo Racing trio have finished the epic race second in class for the last two years – can 2020 be the year they take the top spot?

The LMP2 class will see three British teams gunning for a Le Mans class win, with top names such as Anthony Davidson, Nick Tandy and more hoping to fly the Union Jack on the top step podium.

2019 GTEPRO class winner James Calado, is again joined by AF Corse teammates Daniel Serra and Alessandro Pier Guidi. The Brit has stood on the Le Mans podium twice before and will be looking to make it a hattrick this weekend.

Aston Martin Racing will be hoping for a stronger finish than previous years, with Motorsport UK Team UK Graduates Alex Lynn and Harry Tincknell, joining Maxime Martin behind the wheel of the #97 Vantage AMR.

Look out for four-times British GT Champion and Le Mans class winner Jonny Adam in the GTE Am class. The Scot is racing for TF Sport in the Aston Martin Vantage AMR, with Ireland’s Charlie Eastwood and Turkey’s Salih Yoluc alongside.

The race starts at 13:30 (BST) on 19 September, with a field of 60 cars and no less than 33 British drivers behind the wheel over the 24-hour period.

Follow all the action live throughout the weekend across the event’s social media channels. The race will be broadcast live on Motorsport.TV and Eurosport, with coverage also available on BT Sport.

Fact: Since 2012, twenty-two Britons have raced in the top class of the Le Mans 24 Hours, the most of any nationality. They comprise overall race winners, in Alan McNish and Nick Tandy, 2013 WEC GTE Am champion Stuart Hall, 2014 WEC World Champion Anthony Davidson, LMP2 winners Harry Tincknell, Oliver Turvey and Oliver Jarvis, and 2009 F1 World Champion Jenson Button.