Entries open for 2019 Motorsport UK Young Media Awards

Thursday 07 November 2019

Established in 2002, the awards are designed to encourage the new generation of reporters and photographers working within UK motorsport. An expert panel will consider the applications, with each winner receiving a trophy and a cheque for £1,000 at Motorsport UK’s Night of Champions ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in January. Winners will also receive one year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW), the world’s largest association of automotive editorial professionals.

Candidates must have been aged 30 or under on 1 January 2019. They must be able to demonstrate published work involving UK motorsport and are required to submit a minimum of three published articles or five photographs from 2018/19. Outlets can be specialist or general, national or regional, and online or offline.

Application forms are available here and entries must be received by the Motorsport UK Communications Team no later than Monday 9 December 2019.

Previous winners:


Journalist: James Newbold, Autosport

Photographer: Michael Holden, freelance


Journalist: Stephen Lickorish, Motorsport News

Photographer: Matt Sayle, freelance


Journalist: Jack Benyon, Autosport

Photographer: Dan Bathie, freelance


Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport

Photographer: Jayson Fong, freelance


Journalist: Scott Mitchell, Autosport

Photographer: Adam Pigott, freelance


Journalist: Alex Harmer, Motor Sport

Photographer: Tom Loomes, freelance


Journalist: Jason Craig, Coleraine Chronicle

Photographer: Nick Dungan, freelance


Journalist: Dan McCalla, Motorsport News

Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance


Journalist: Rob Ladbrook, Motorsport News

Photographer: William Neill, freelance


Journalist: Ben Anderson, Autosport

Photographer: Dominic Romney, freelance


Journalist: Ed Foster, Motor Sport

Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT


Journalist: Steven English, Autosport

Photographer: Drew Gibson, LAT


Journalist: Kevin Turner, Autosport

Photographer: Michael Hoyer, freelance


Journalist: Glenn Freeman, Motorsport News

Photographer: Gavin Ireland, Racecar Engineering


Journalist: Gemma Briggs, Racecar/Haymarket

Photographer: Glenn Dunbar, LAT


Journalist: Tim Redmayne, Motorsport News

Photographer: Jonathan MacDonald, Pacenotes


Journalist: Will Gray, Collings Sport

Photographer: Jakob Ebrey, Jakob Ebrey Photographic

Image: Michael Holden, 2018 Motorsport UK Young Photographer of the Year, collecting his award from David Richards CBE at the Night of Champions.