Entries open for 2020 Motorsport UK Young Media Awards

Tuesday 08 December 2020

Motorsport UK are delighted to announce that entries are open for the 2020 Young Journalist and Young Photographer of the Year Awards.

Established in 2002, the governing body’s young media awards are designed to encourage and inspire the next generation of reporters and photographers working within UK motorsport.

An expert panel will consider the applications, with each winner receiving a trophy, a cheque for £1,000 and exclusive opportunities to work with Motorsport UK. Winners will also receive one year’s provisional membership of the Guild of Motoring Writers (GoMW), the world’s largest association of automotive editorial professionals.

New for 2020 will be Scholarship Prizes courtesy of Motorsport News. The prizes will be awarded to the journalist and photographer showing the most potential, with the two young recipients being given paid work by the prestigious title to cover a UK motorsport event in 2021.

Candidates must be aged 30 or under on 1 January 2021 and must be able to demonstrate published work involving UK motorsport. Each applicant is required to submit a minimum of three published articles or five photographs from either 2019 or 2020. Outlets can be specialist or general, national or regional, as well as online.

2019 Young Photographer of the Year, Lou Johnson, said: “When I was announced as Young Motorsport Photographer of the Year last year, I don’t think I was quite prepared for the reception it would get. My work was suddenly being seen by a much larger audience, and the response was very humbling and unexpected. While this year hasn’t been the best for anyone, as the world attempts to navigate the pandemic, it certainly hasn’t been without its highlights. I hope the award and recognition I received will continue to create interesting conversations for me, and perhaps open more doors within the industry.”

Application forms are available below and entries must be received by the Motorsport UK Communications Team no later than Monday 4 January 2021 at 17:30.

Previous winners: 




2019Matt Kew, AutosportLou Johnson, Spacesuit Media
2018James Newbold, AutosportMichael Holden, Freelance
2017Stephen Lickorish, Motorsport NewsMatt Sayle, Freelance
2016Jack Benyon, AutosportDan Bathie, Freelance
2015Scott Mitchell, AutosportJayson Fong, Freelance
2014Scott Mitchell, AutosportAdam Pigott, Freelance
2013Alex Harmer, Motor SportTom Loomes, Freelance
2012Jason Craig, Coleraine ChronicleNick Dungan, Freelance
2011Dan McCalla, Motorsport NewsDominic Romney, Freelance
2010Rob Ladbrook, Motorsport NewsWilliam Neill, Freelance
2009Ben Anderson, AutosportDominic Romney, Freelance
2008Ed Foster, Motor SportDrew Gibson, LAT
2007Steven English, AutosportDrew Gibson, LAT
2006Kevin Turner, AutosportMichael Hoyer, Freelance
2005Glenn Freeman, Motorsport NewsGavin Ireland, Racecar Engineering
2004Gemma Briggs, Racecar/HaymarketGlenn Dunbar, LAT
2003Tim Redmayne, Motorsport NewsJonathan MacDonald, Pacenotes
2002Will Gray, Collings SportJakob Ebrey, Jakob Ebrey Photographic