The Motor Sports Council

The Council is custodian of the sporting power for the United Kingdom and the “Sporting Commission” under the FIA statutes. The Council’s responsibilities include the governance of UK motor sport, the improvement of safety, the regulation of motor sport by enforcing FIA regulations and drawing up National Rules of Competition, judicial matters and dispute resolution, and the development of motor sport together with the approval of British Championships.

How to raise issues with the Council

The Council welcomes contributions to its work. Issues should be raised with member clubs, who can pass ideas to the Regional Associations for consideration at Regional Committee and then to Council. Alternatively, Motorsport UK can be contacted directly.

The Prince Michael Award of Merit

The Council is responsible for bestowing this prestigious personal award made in recognition of outstanding meritorious service to British Motor Sport.

President of the MSA Council: HRH Prince Michael of Kent GCVO.

Honorary Vice Presidents: Michael SouthcombeRonnie Trouton MBE.

Honorary Member: Graham Stoker.

The Members for 2018 are:

Tony Scott Andrews (Council Chairman) – Motorsport UK Steward, FIA Steward, Member of FIA International Court of Appeal, Chairman of BTCC Stewards, Chairman of BARC, BMSTT Trustee

Jon Binns (Appointed Council Member) – Marshals Representative. Chairman of Buccaneer Motor Sports Club. Competitor, official and marshal on road and stage rallies for over 25 years. 1994 ANCC Northern Stage Rally Champion Co-driver. Stage Commander on Wales Rally GB. Member of the National and International Training Teams and also member of the Training Working Group

Mike Broad (Appointed Council Member) – Motorsport UK Director, Member of FIA Rally Commission, Chairman of the Rally Championship Steering Group, Chairman of Stage Rally Tyre Working Group, President of BTRDA, President of Quinton Motor Club, former World Rally Co-driver and team manager, 1985 BRC Champion Co-driver

Henry Campbell (Appointed Council Member) – Chairman of ANICC, Vice Chairman 2&4 Motorsport Steering Group, President Mid Antrim Motor Club, National ‘B’ Rally and Speed Clerk of Course and Competition Licence holder

Dennis Carter (Appointed Council Member) – Motorsport UK Director, Former Chief Executive of BARC and Director of BMP Ltd

Hugh Chambers - Chief Executive

Bernard Cottrell (Chairman of Volunteer Officials Advisory Panel) - Chairman of BRSCC, International Clerk of the Course, Member of Clerks & Stewards Working Group, Member of Race Committee

Sandy Denham - (Appointed Council Member)

Simon Durling (Chairman of Speed Events Committee) – After beginning in Trialling converted to Hill Climbing, initially in unlimited Pilbeams and Goulds. Now competing in an historic Brabham. Regular top ten competitor in the British Hill Climb Championship during the 00s. AHAS instructor and past chairman of the Hill Climb & Sprint Sub Committee

Nigel Edwards (Chairman of the Kart Committee) - Director and Chairman Trent Valley Kart Club, International Clerk of the Course, National A Race Clerk of the Course

Alan Gow – (Appointed Council Member) Former Chairman of Motorsport UK, President of the FIA Touring Car Commission, Director of the FIA Foundation, Director of FIA Institute, Series Director of the BTCC, Director of The Royal Automobile Club, BMSTT Trustee, MIA Committee Member

Roger Hill (Chairman of Safety Advisory Panel) – Chartered Engineer and Fellow of Institution of Mechanical Engineers, Associate and former Managing Director of Arthur D Little Ltd, International Safety and Risk Management Consultants

Andrew Kellitt (Chairman of Rallies Committee) – Event Co-ordinator and Deputy Clerk of the Course of Wales Rally GB since 1989, former BTRDA Gold Star® Rally Championship Co-ordinator and Clerk of the Course on the Pirelli International Rally, Co-driver and navigator to many driver on Stage Rallies and Road Rallies

David Lapworth (Chairman of Technical Advisory Panel) Motorsport UK Director

Paul Loveridge (Appointed Council Member) – Chairman of WAMC, MSA Environmental, Car National ‘A’ and Eligibility Scrutineer

Nicky Moffitt (Chairman of Regional Committee) – Vice-Chairman of Motor Sports Council, Motorsport UK Director, Trustee of BMSTT, Secretary of ANICC, Director of 2&4 Wheel Motorsport Steering Group, Motorsport UK and FIA Steward

Richard Norbury (Chairman of the Judical Advisory Panel) - Motorsport UK Director, Motorsport UK Steward, International Steward, Speed Clerk of the Course, Former rally navigator and organiser, multiple event winner and past ANCC Road Rally Champion.  Retired senior Civil Servant

Rod Parkin (Chairman of Historic Committee) – Clerk of Course Rally Yorkshire, Motorsport UK Director, Motorsport UK Forestry Liaison Officer for North York Moors, FIA Steward, Motorsport UK Steward, President of FIA Historic Rally Sub Commission

Nick Pollitt (Chairman of Trials Committee) – Competes in Car Trials, Autotest and Stage Rallies, also a BARS Instructor, former winner of the BTRDA Trials Championship, BTRDA Allrounders and championship class win the BTRDA Gold Star®

Gethin Rees (Chairman of the Timekeeping Advisory Panel)

David Richards - Chairman of Motorsport UK, Chairman of Aston Martin 2007 - 2013, Appointed a CBE for services to motor sport in 2005, CEO of BAR Honda 2002 - 2004, Founder and Chairman of Prodrive 1984 - present, Consultant for Automobile Industry 1982 - 1984, Rally Co-driver for British Leyland, Opel and Ford 1974 - 1981

Dr Ian Roberts (Chairman of the Medical Advisory Panel)

Mike Sones (Chairman of Autotest Committee) – Twice former British Autotest Champion, former member of Regional Committee and Rallies Committee, Motorsport UK Steward, Chairman of BTRDA

Steve Stringwell (appointed Council member) - Permanent Chairman of the Stewards for: Porsche Supercup, World Series by Renault 3.5, British Touring Cars, A1 Grand Prix.  National Court Chairman, Motorsport UK Steward, FIA Formula One permanent Steward (support races)

Chris Tomley (Chairman of Cross Country Committee) – Solicitor, holds Clerk of the Course Licence for International Cross Country and Rally National A, Baja GB organiser in 2006 & 2007, former Clerk of the Course of the Hill Rally, Rali Bryn Cymru and Marches Hill Rally, former Deputy Clerk of the Course and Secretary of the Meeting of the British Off Road Championship from 2000 to 2008 (now known as the British Cross Country Championship), currently Clerk of the Course of the Mid-Wales Stages, Motorsport UK Licensed Rally Recovery Unit Operator, Trainer and Assessor

Ian Watson (Chairman of Race Committee) – Motorsport UK Director, Motorsport UK International Clerk of the Course (Race and Kart), member of Volunteer Officials Advisory Panel and Clerks & Stewards Working Group, Motorsport UK Steward, Motorsport UK Lead Trainer and General Manager at B.A.R.C.