Bumper entry revealed for 5 Nations BRX

Thursday 27 August 2020

This Bank Holiday weekend at Lydden Hill, we are ready to unleash the monsters as a new season of the British Rallycross is set to roar into life. Rebranded as the Motorsport UK British Rallycross Championship 5 Nations Trophy Presented by Cooper Tires, the new theme and new lease of life will however still see the same close-quarter, side-by-side racing as the exciting discipline visits England, Scotland, Wales and Ireland for an action-packed season.

The mixed-surface, short-sharp racing discipline kicks off at the home of rallycross – the picturesque Lydden Hill in Kent. The elevation changes test the drivers, while spectators are treated to spectacular action as the natural amphitheatre provides perfect viewing of the whole circuit.

The top-flight Supercar entry reaches double figures for the opening bout. Former champions are set to go head-to-head with six-time British Champion Julian Godfrey (Ford Fiesta), former British Champion Ollie O’Donovan (Ford Fiesta), three-time IRX champion Derek Tohill (Ford Fiesta) and reigning Supernational champion Tristan Ovenden (Citroen DS3) battling it out for honours.

Look out for World RX regular and former BRX driver Oliver Bennett (BMW Mini Cooper S) who heads a stellar line-up of championship chargers that includes experienced drivers Steve Hill (Mitsubishi Evo), Roger Thomas (Ford Fiesta), Mark Flaherty (Ford Fiesta) and Andy Grant (Ford Focus).

Newcomers in the series will include Sir Chris Hoy MBE (Citroen C4), Irish rally ace Mark Donnelly (Citroen DS3), former drift and Swift racer Dom Flitney (Subaru Impreza) and rallycross returnee Mike Sellar (Citroen DS3) make their BRX Supercar debuts. Isle of Man TT legend John McGuinness is set to join the series at Knockhill in the car used by Hoy at Lydden Hill.

Former British RX Champion Pat Doran (Ford RS200) joins reigning GpB Champion Steve Harris (Ford RS200), Mad Mark Watson (Citroen Xsara), Ian Flitney (Subaru Impreza) and Derrick Jobb (MkII Ford Escort) in the new 4WD Retro Rallycross class. There is also a solid entry across the Retro Rallycross classes including Retro and Super Retro with returning champions going head-to-head with newcomers.

There is a strong field of Supernationals including runner-up Paige Bellerby (Lotus Exige), Guy Corner (Lotus Exige) and Stuart Emery (Peugeot 206), and debutant Jason Bleasdale (Vauxhall VX220) amid a diverse range of other machinery.

Reigning champion Craig Lomax (Citroen C2) heads the Super1600 line-up, that includes a returning Darren Scott (Citroen C2) and  Latvian champion Roberts Vitols (Peugeot 206).

Swift Sport, Junior, BMW Mini and RX150 classes all boast solid entries of new and series returnees, all set for door-to-door action.

The opening round of the Motorsport UK 5 Nations British Rallycross Championship gets underway on the 30/31 August at Lydden Hill. For tickets visit lyddenhill.co.uk and for more information on the series, visit rallycrossbrx.com.